Bad mommy

May 4, 2010 at 9:50 pm 23 comments

Yesterday, I got a little too overwhelmed and wanted some alone time. Which is kind of hard when you have an infant, especially a cute one which happens to be yours , staring at you and making cute baby sounds. But then, I really really wanted some alone time. So I faked it.

I faked that I had to go potty and then went in and sat for 10 minutes. No potty, just sitting and staring at the towel rack while the ventillator whirred in the background.

I think I just died of guilt today.

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

The Nanny diaries

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. comfortablynam  |  May 4, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Oh please don’t..I know it is easy said than done..but please don’t.

    Being a parent and a new parent at that and mom on top of that is just too much work..between the feeding and the burping and the changing..the immense pressure of taking care of a little one gets too much for all of us.

    So give yourself a break..in fact make a plan where you get some time every now and then to yourself..and no break does not mean going to work. Break means going for a walk or sitting with a book. Just some little time to yourself.

  • 2. sraikh  |  May 4, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    ROFL.. I do it all the time.
    Dont feel the guilt.

    I also have said can you just stop talking and go to you room.
    And to make you feel even better. I completely messed up Ashwina’s rehersal time and picked her up 20 mins late.
    You’re welcome.

  • 3. chroniclesofdee  |  May 5, 2010 at 1:19 am

    I showed this to Amma and she said that she would fake migraines (Amma had terrible migraines) after my sister was born and she would go to sleep in the room at the farthest room in the house so she would not even have to hear her cry!

    She claims that was the best time she had πŸ˜€

  • 4. Vidya  |  May 5, 2010 at 3:01 am

    I have done this at work when I needed a few minutes to get away from it all.. Luckily I mostly work with men,so no one would notice!

  • 5. la Vida Loca  |  May 5, 2010 at 6:23 am

    u r entitled to some time of your own..no guilt.
    hug

  • 6. whinymom  |  May 5, 2010 at 7:46 am

    oh I so know what you are going through! its a lot of hard work and try taking these breaks like once in a day or 2 days so its not too overwhelming!

  • 7. Ramya  |  May 6, 2010 at 1:31 am

    Hey I know that guilt, i have a 3 month old too and i just wait for my hubby to come home in the evening so i can take a break.

  • 8. the mad momma  |  May 7, 2010 at 6:41 am

    bah. we all hide in the loo. its the safest place.

  • 9. Rohini  |  May 10, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    That made you feel guilty? We need to have a chat about my Bad Mommy moments then. That should make you feel better

  • 10. abha  |  May 25, 2010 at 8:38 am

    i still do it!

    guess enough mommies have told ya its supremely normal behaviour! πŸ™‚

  • 11. AlwaysHappyKya  |  June 14, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    By now you know you are not alonedear. Just to reassure, I am there too.

    I hand over paapu to the hubby and go out biking or take a walk. I am at it for 15 minutes.. before the guilt creeps in and I rush back home πŸ˜€

  • 12. DewdropDream  |  June 15, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    How’s it going?

  • 13. Joe Zachs  |  June 20, 2010 at 2:56 am

    Taking time off for oneself as and when required need not take you to a guilt trip.

  • 14. Tazeen  |  July 5, 2010 at 9:02 am

    Don’t feel bad, a little personal time is good for both of you in the long run

  • 15. chroniclesofdee  |  July 8, 2010 at 7:40 am

    WHERE ARE YOU!

    We need deets on Risha’s maiden trip to India πŸ˜€

  • 16. dfromletmebme  |  July 27, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    πŸ™‚

  • 17. D  |  July 27, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    πŸ™‚

  • 18. alwayshappykya  |  July 29, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    Hellooo…updates pls!

    What’s Risha upto? How have you been doing?

  • 19. the Mother  |  August 6, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    Guilt is overrated.

    Maternal guilt is disastrously overrated.

  • 20. nisha  |  June 5, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    So cute!! I’m sure your baby will understand when he/she grows up.. dont worry πŸ™‚

  • 21. She talks like June  |  June 9, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    There is too much pressure to be the ‘perfect mother’ which for many means being physically attached to your child even after he/ she is out of your womb. I am not a mother, but I am guessing it is a happy but overwhelming experience. Go ahead take more poo breaks! Which is why there usually is 1 child but 2 parents. Poor them with multiple twins!

  • 22. Nidhi  |  June 13, 2011 at 6:35 am

    Hi clueless,Why did u stop blogging? I think I can understand your predicament since I have a daughter who is 13 months old and she is my sole priority now! Commenting for the first time here – needed some help actually. I’m moving from Bangalore to teh Bay area in a few months (hubby just relocated last week and foudn an apartment in Sunnyvale). Since I will be working I will have to look for reliable daycare for my baby -she will be 18 montsh when we come there. I know you live in Bay area too..do you know of any good options? Thanks much and love to the little one!

  • 23. nmaha  |  September 18, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    This is perfectly acceptable mummy behavior. Hunger and potty are the only two acceptable escape routes. Does that say something?
    Found your blog through the wild child and love it πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy