The Nanny diaries

March 30, 2010 at 5:37 pm 16 comments

So yes, the hunt for a suitable nanny for my little baby has begun. Even though she will be needing one only 3 months from now, such great is the demand that I have to start looking right now. And then there is the thing of budget. I cannot afford those chic looking, CPR sprouting nannies that look like they have just walked out of a movie set because, well..ahem….they probably earn more than me. That kind of leaves me with the Indian aunties who are looking for some light work to keep themselves busy. Which is excellent because I think nothing beats a hearty children loving aunty who also cooks . Not even Red Cross training. But. but, but , but but But. We have a dog at home.

I realize that not everyone likes dogs or are comfortable around them. Which is why I SPECIFICALLY said in my ad that I would like someone who is comfortable around dogs since we have a dog at home. I got phonecalls by the truck loads. I was very surprised because I know that not a lot of Indian ladies are comfortable with dogs. In fact, I re-iterated the fact that we have a dog at home and all of them sounded super confident. They told me tales of how they had four-four dogs in their homes previously and how dear Jackie / Romeo took his last breath in their arms.  Anyways, I called them home to talk to them and to also evaluate how comfortable they would be at my home. That was one of the best decisions I made.

Nanny #1 came, looked at my dog and screamed.

Nanny #2 asked why I cannot tie my dog when she is around.

Nanny #3 asked me to get rid of the dog.

Nanny #4 seemed ok. But she called back after she left saying she is scared of dogs.

What part of the “we have a dog at home and the nanny needs to be comfortable around dogs” part of my ad did they not understand???

PS: If anyone thinks Rummy’s behaviour was off the mark during these interviews, the poor chap was sitting all the time on his doggie bed, his head down. One of the times he even fell asleep!

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

The first official rant Bad mommy

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. June  |  March 30, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Indian aunties make the best nannies! Atleast they wont make out with their BF’s on your bed while you are away. True story this.

    Clueless: :0 My kid goes to daycare with live webcams installed. Final!

  • 2. comfortablynam  |  March 30, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    The part where they probably assumed you had a pocket dog maybe..or the part where they wanted the extra money bad that they thought they could deal with the dog..

    I am sure you will find someone nice soon.. Else you can look for a small home run daycare by an Indian Aunty.

    Clueless: Hmm…maybe I should just post a photo of Rummy with the ad!

  • 3. chroniclesofdee  |  March 31, 2010 at 2:45 am

    lol.. we used to get that all the time!! People tell us all the time, I love “puppies” and we used to insist that we had a big “dog and not a puppy.. Invariably, no one ever entered our gate on seeing our sweet lil baby 🙂

    As for ur response to June’s comment.. In our office we had a childcare facility with complete video surveillance (?). They provide us with an username n password and we can check on the kids randomly. My colleague’s daughter has been going there for 1.5 yrs now and she is very very comfortable with the arrangement!

    If I was in the US, I would have def volunteered.. More for Rummy than Risha 😀

    Clueless: We have daycares with video surveillance too, but atleast for the first year I wanted a more homely environment for Risha. I am looking at daycare options too. And being a pet owner, I totally wont take offense that you would volunteer for Rummy’s sake 😉

  • 4. smartassbride  |  March 31, 2010 at 6:49 am

    you need to put some excerpts(from the Rummy posts) in the ad. then the nannies will see that he is indeed fit to be a peace keeper in the UN 🙂

    Nice blog you’ve got here 🙂

  • 5. whinymom  |  March 31, 2010 at 9:01 am

    These worries i tell you. I need to use the daycare facility at the end of this year for my boy and im researching from now only… Too many fears i tell u … All the best!

    Clueless: worries..worries..worries….will they ever end?? I never knew i could obsess over so many little things!

  • 6. chroniclesofdee  |  March 31, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Ohh good.. The DH read my comment and told me that I was manner less for saying that 😦

    I guess I’m missing my doggie soo much.

    We had our first rain without her yesterday night., Was terrible 😦

    Clueless: awww….did Goldie like the rains??? Mine hates water except when he has to drink it.

  • 7. AverageJane  |  April 1, 2010 at 12:01 am

    People (not just nannies) don’t want to admit that they can’t do something in an interview. 🙂 Hope you find a fit soon. Consider home daycares as well if Risha is going to be old enough (> 6months?) when she needs daycare. My 2c.

    Clueless: I am considering home based day cares. Just wanted to explore all kinds of options. The more nannies I interview, the more I want to send my kid to a day care facilities. Risha will be starting at around 6 months and more than the blingy facilities and toys, I want people who really care.

  • 8. chroniclesofdee  |  April 1, 2010 at 3:21 am

    She loves the rain. She would go insane seeing the rain and riolling around the rain water gathered on our portico and road!

  • 9. justaroundme  |  April 1, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    I love babies ,I love dogs and I have been contemplating about alternative career for a long time …should i think about relocating to your area ! this career looks very attractive than meeting deadlines…

    Clueless: You sound perfect! When are you relocating??

  • 10. justaroundme  |  April 1, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    OOPS,and wish you Good Luck

  • 11. AlwaysHappyKya  |  April 6, 2010 at 3:30 am

    LOL!!, so all that hype about nannies is true!
    In fact, one of my friends said ” Good house and good nanny are God’s true blessings”. Hmm.. 🙂

    Me thinks it is the size of Rummy and posting a picture with a size perspective should make it more clear.

    Best of luck gal.

    Clueless: Rummy apart, I was really disturbed that they were ready to say anything to get the job. They wanted to pet Rummy even though they were visibly scared of him! I understand the urgency to get some income, but it puts the question mark about what else they would be untruthful about to keep the job. I think I am going the daycare route!

  • 12. Abha  |  April 9, 2010 at 11:52 am

    i think home based day care would be awesome. we have a nanny at home and its was so much more comfy when Cub was chhottu. but as he grows up and needs more stimulation and company i wish i could move him to a daycare.

    but most day cares here close by 6pm and who has a job that gets over at that hour anymore?! 😦

    hope you find something perfect!

    cheers!

  • 13. Priya  |  April 14, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    Looooong Time Clueless:-)

    have not had a chance to catch up with all posts, but I have a nanny here (more like stop gap babysitter) who loves dogs, kids and food in that order 🙂 She seriously does not mind M, although she said she could not walk him (nor would we let her, he weighs more than she does!). Can I export her over state line to you ?

    And I realize this is late, but I KNEW it was a girl. 😀

    Clueless: Now that I have a girl, I can openly say that I secretly wanted a girl for all the shallow things – polka dotted dresses and cute hair clips (which have to wait since my baby is BALD)…..I finally found someone who is not scared of Rummy and actually told “Nice doggie”. I hired her. I guess it is a start!

    Priya.

  • 14. chatterbox  |  April 24, 2010 at 12:40 am

    Good luck with your Nanny hunt, I hope you find one soon :D:D

  • 15. the Mother  |  August 6, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    No one can read. Or at least they pretend they can’t. If you advertise for someone who is comfortable with dogs, you should get someone who is comfortable with dogs.

    On the other hand–if they aren’t comfortable with a quiet, sleeping dog, how are they going to do when your kid has a bad day?

  • 16. nmaha  |  September 18, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    Haha…..yes aunties work better in long run (don’t take my word as all the aunties I have employed have not lasted more than 6 months). Maybe you should put a large beware of dog sign in your ad.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

