The first official rant

March 18, 2010 at 6:24 pm 15 comments

Things have been rosy in the Clueless household. Touch wood. Risha is eating properly and gaining weight. She is not too cranky most of the times. And to sweeten the deal, she has decided to give us a 5 hour sleep stretch in the night.

But. I guess there always has to be a but. And the “but” here is my…well…butt. The thing is, even though I gained only 25 pounds during my pregnancy, 2 months later I still have about 10 pounds torturing me. And no matter what I do, it is not going away even by a pound. In fact, today morning I weighed myself, did some workout, came back and weighed again. And guess what? I showed half a pound heavier!

The issue is not so much my weight as my wardrobe. I love most of my wardrobe. It has been assembled over time – finding sales and deals here and there. Shopping in some vague store where I got the bargain of a lifetime for an awesome top. I had my favourites – some tops fit me fantastically and I could always fall back on them when I was indecisive. There are clothes that K really loved to see me in. And then there are clothes that are filled with memories. Like the chiffon halter that I wore on my honeymoon or the gorgeous salwar my mom sent on my birthday. And now, they no longer fit. Or they don’t fit the way they are supposed to.

I can pull my favourite jeans up my thighs and even button them, but I end up having a muffin top. The top that fit me perfectly now shows a paunch peeking through. And all my tailored clothes – I can’t get them past my bustline because of my humongous lactating boobs (which I am told are temporary).Ā  The tops that fit me well and surprise me end up happening to be my pregnancy tops.

I know, I know that after having a baby my body will no longer have the same shape as before. And I am ok with that. But I am unprepared for the drastic way in which it has changed. I am no Heidi Klum, but I do want my thighs to be non-scary and my paunch reduced to maybe a small pooch. Is that too much? Or is it too soon? I don’t know. But I am starting swimming from next week. Hopefully it will do something that will actually show on the scales.

Ladies – what was your experience with post natal weight loss? Is it possible or are we searching for the Yeti here? Any tips? In the meantime, I will keep chugging along on my elliptical, obsessively looking at the rpm and step count.

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

Back to work and other related things The Nanny diaries

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. comfortablynam  |  March 18, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Err..if I say too soon with you hit me??..

    I stayed at a weight post the initial weight loss for the longest time. Then around 6 months the milk production changes to have more fat..which that digs in to the fat deposits in the body helping in weight loss. At least that is how things worked for me. I started losing weight again around the 6 month mark. I still have about 4 pounds to go but then I can’t seem to find the time to even go for a walk. If you are hitting the gym as regularly as you are I am sure the weight loss will come all the more easier for you.

    Hang in there..

    Clueless: Thanks! Its comforting to know I still have time!

  • 2. AverageJane  |  March 18, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    I gained 35 pounds. Took an year for me to get to my pre-preg weight. And the tummy is still there in all its glory. Have heard from avid runners and swimmers that the tummy may not go away at all. I think it’s too soon for you to be hard on yourself.

    Clueless: I feel much better knowing I have more time! It is just that I am a petite person and even one pound really shows on me šŸ˜¦

  • 3. whinymom  |  March 19, 2010 at 5:34 am

    Oh its very soon to be thinking about getting back in shape. plus lactating females take longer to shed weight.
    i too am still a petite person and the tummy and thighs show.
    but perhaps what helped me was having warm water instead of normal temp water in the first 3 months and getting some oil massages done. try that

    Clueless: I got the oil massages done…let me try the warm water part…I still have a month to go before I hit the 3 month mark!

  • 4. chroniclesofdee  |  March 19, 2010 at 6:21 am

    Well, I have absolutely no input. So, I will say best of luck..

    And, thank u for scaring the crap out of me. I may never get pregnant. Jus kidding hon! šŸ˜€

    Being fat and getting fatter is something I don want to put my self thru this .. Waaaaaaaaahh

    Clueless: That’s why I am seriously thinking of adopting my second one…if this is how one pregnancy leaves me…I don’t know what 2 will do to my system!

  • 5. Munchkin's Mom  |  March 22, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Oh, I’m still on the way to losing the last 8kgs..am afraid there are no straight answers..damn and blast!

  • 6. AlwaysHappyKya  |  March 22, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    I shouldn’t be talking of weight loss at 23rd day after delivery..but well, I worry about it already.

    The 20 big pounds have gone..but the last 10 is what scares me. So, I hear ya sister šŸ™‚

    I don’t intend to take out my pre-pregnancy clothes until I feel confident to get into them šŸ˜‰

    Plan to join swimming in sometime too..keeping fingers crossed šŸ˜¦

    Clueless: I am joining next week…classes start Mar 27. Interested? It should be close enough to your place…

  • 7. M  |  March 23, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    Occasional reader of your blog, first time comment I think – from my experience (2 kids, 10/8) – just wanted to say – definitely too soon to worry about weight loss, if you have normal metabolism – yes there are folks who lose ALL pregnancy weight in the first month after delivery but they are few and far between – if you are nursingfull-time, it takes 6-9 months before your body loses all the weight you gained (if it ever does :))

    I gained and lost a large amount of weight post both pregnancies, but my bust was the one thing that never went back to pre-baby dimensions – yes, it comes down from lactating levels, but the final size was still 2 sizes and 2 cup sizes larger than pre-preg sizes!

    Think of it as a great reason for more clothes shopping though!

    M

  • 8. whinymom  |  March 25, 2010 at 11:45 am

    You’ve been tagged! šŸ™‚

  • 9. cynicaldee  |  March 25, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Its easy give it time:)..

    Clueless: says the lady who weighs less than a stick :p

  • 10. cynicaldee  |  March 26, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Thank u ji for the compliment:)

  • 11. sraikh  |  March 26, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    I dont event want to talk about weight loss.
    Hows everything else though. You need to tell us more Rummy and Risha stories.

  • 12. roop  |  March 29, 2010 at 4:53 am

    man, i gained 15 lbs just in the first 8 weeks hehe … gotta follow your lead next pregnancy!!! can’t gain more than what i am willing to work off later.

    wish you the best!!!! keep us updated. i’ve heard that stomach never really goes back in. and yes, that does scare me.

    Clueless: The main thing is to eat healthy nutritious food, not NOT eat for two like our mommies and grandmas ask us to! And ofcourse, take regular walks (which i never did :p )

  • 13. roop  |  March 30, 2010 at 12:32 am

    oh it wasnt the eating for two as much as it was digging into ice cream whenever craving called. ;p

    n normally, im a real good eater. just let myself go in those two months. oh well, 10 lbs off … another 5 to go.

    hopefully, i’d be craving water next time. :D:D

    Clueless: 10 pounds off?? already?? I am sooo jealous. If you can get weight off so easily, you should crave for double churned creamy ice cream!!!

  • 14. Priya  |  April 14, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Clueless, I am on my way to Clueless land to slap you.
    You are two months postpartum. TWO. It takes NINE months to put on 25lbs. Give yourself time woman. By baby’s first birthday you WILL reach pre-pregnancy weight.

    Now pre-pregnancy shape is a different thing. If you reach that goal I shall be very jealous and pout and then harrass you to share your secret šŸ˜€

    Priya.

    Clueless: Month 2 to month 3 – absolutely no effing reduction in weight šŸ˜¦ But yeah, I heard that many hold on to their weight while breast feeding. I hope I am one of those ladies! I am on a plan of extreme activity to lose weight which includes making some fabric jewelry, floor cushions, etc. Will let you know if it works :p

  • 15. the mad momma  |  May 7, 2010 at 6:43 am

    the rule is 9 months on 9 months off.
    even then, the tone rarely comes back unless you seriously attack it. few moms have the time or energy to do that!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

