Back to work and other related things

March 5, 2010 at 7:09 pm 11 comments

Yes, I am back at work. I can’t believe it but I am. And my 7 week old baby is with her grandma and grandpa clueless to the fact that her mommy is not around and it just breaks my heart. But I know that I need that extra leave when my mom returns back to India so that Risha gets more family time before starting with a nanny. I know it is for her best, but damn it hurts!

I am stopping that topic right here before this post turns into an illegible rant.

Moving on, I am proud to say that I have been a more green person when it comes to Risha’s things. I have happily accepted things from my friends that they had bought for their kids. A quick wash with some anti bacterial and they are as good as new. Some of these things were barely used for 2-3 months because the kids outgrow them in that span of time. So I have myself baby bean pillow, nursing pillow, some very cute rattles, baby sling, size 1 diapers that my friend’s kid outgrew while they still had stock in that size and I have to say I am mighty pleased. One look into the baby stores here and you will know the excess I am talking about. Everything made of plastic and packaged in more plastic. A device for every little thing connected to the baby. Things that you cannot use for more than 3 months, so you discard them almost brand new! On my side too, Risha has already outgrown her newborn size clothes and moved to the next size ( what?? so soon? maybe I will blink and she will be off to college! ) and those clothes have barely been worn 5 times.

I have also learned that expensive does not always equate to quality. I have seen organic expensive baby oils that cost $20 for a small bottle. I have been making my own using mineral oil, almond oil and avacado oil and it works beautifully. I collectively spent $15 on a big bottle of mineral oil, almond oil and avacado oil and I am not even past the half way mark. I bought some super expensive diaper rash cream which did nothing for my baby. And then I use plain old petroleum jelly and boom! no more rashes. All you experienced moms out there must be rolling their eyes over what must be common for you, but please let me bask in the glory of these discoveries for a while…

……………………………………………………………..

I always knew that with Rummy and Risha together, there will be some things that will happen that may not be very appealing. What I did not expect is for them to start happening so soon! Rummy has perfected the art of stealthily licking some part of Risha and running away. So far he has been able to lick her head and her leg. I hope the face part is postponed to sometime later. In return, Risha caught Rummy’s wet nose and was really amused. I had to wipe her hand really really fast before she decided to chuck it into her mouth.

…………………………………………………………….

Risha’s grandpa arrived last week and seems to be quite smitten with his brand new grand daughter. At the same time, he is freaked out about carrying Risha because she is so “little and delicate”. Everytime he has to carry her, he “prepares” by getting some 2 blankies on his lap and one more to cover Risha and sits very still for the time Risha is on his lap.  His morning routine starts with keeping a highly awake and happy Risha engaged in conversation. And oh boy! does she talk! For full 45 minutes non stop. And sometimes even an hour if she has pooped and is feeling mighty pleased about it. But for some reason, all her grandpa can say to her is “Koli mari! Koli mari!” (baby hen! baby hen!) which repeated for 45 minutes can have adverse effects on a sleep deprived mom.

Risha’s grandpa also got himself a super stylish set of aviators and has been wanting to wear it on his walks for “UV protection”. But the rain gods have not been kind to him and most of the day ends up being cloudy. He carries his new sun glasses anyways in hope that some small ray of sunshine will break through. Risha’s grandma laughs at him everyday for this.

…………………………………………………………………..

K is getting very sentimental about his daughter. For the most part Risha is dressed in overalls that keep her warm. When we were having visitors, I decided to put a pretty frock and K was all freaked out saying “Oh my God! she looks like a girl in this. Why do you have to make her frocks already? Soon she will grow up and get married and go away”.  Drama queen anyone??

K also gets very creative when he is the sleepiest. So every time Risha wakes up in the night, a new scene unfolds. One day she is He-man (remember that cartoon??) and the next day she is Simba being shown to the forest. His lullabies are equally interesting. Mostly it is “Saare Jahan se Accha” but can morph into “Its the time to disco” and many such inappropriate songs.

So yup, that is a glimpse of the clueless household, more chaotic than it has ever been – all thanks to a tiny 9 pounder.

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

Risha – The homecoming The first official rant

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. comfortablynam  |  March 5, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    aww..totally aww…

    Can’t help but smile through your post.. 🙂

    Rummy and Risha 😆 go team..they are going to have so much fun together once she starts turning over.

    Guys are the biggest drama queens there are when it comes to their daughters..I have a sample at home.

    I know it’s difficult to leave her and get back to work, but as you said it’s for the best..so hang in there..and the next time you take off from work to be with her..she will be much more interactive and you will have a blast..So wait for it 🙂

  • 2. La Vida Loca  |  March 6, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    awwww.
    so cute! do I get to visit?

    Clueless: Anytime! You have my number na?

  • 3. celestialrays  |  March 7, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    I love Rummy and Risha duo already 😀
    And grandpa seems to be having a lot of fun!
    Give us more stories now 😉

    @comfy – mind sharing some drama queen stories please???

  • 4. DewdropDream  |  March 7, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    hahahahahha … entertaining as ever!

    Hope you’re okay 🙂

  • 5. chroniclesofdee  |  March 8, 2010 at 8:08 am

    That was such a sweet update!

    lol @ grandpa, rummy and K.. Maybe to humor the granpa; u shuld keep her blog name as “koli mari”..

    And I am soo glad u went back to work.. that way u have more time in India and I can come visit u!! Yay 🙂

    Clueless: That visit should be fun!!!

  • 6. AverageJane  |  March 8, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Boy, don’t they like to yak away in the mornings?! Good luck with getting back to work. Take it easy..

  • 7. The Print Lover  |  March 8, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    Heyyy! Congrats 🙂

    Awww at Rummy’s antics and I like “Koli mari” for her blog name. Very unique!

  • 8. AlwaysHappyKya  |  March 11, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    Hey..was such a delight reading the post..what an interesting glimpse of my future ( hopefully!) 😀

    200% agreed on the hand me down part – Paapu hardly has a couple really ‘new’ clothes..rest are all handed down, washed and ‘looks new’ 🙂 hate walking the isles of baby stores..too many fake looking expensive stuff..Argh!

    Laughed really hard @ ‘Koli Mari’…Bwahahha..granpa’s can be really creative 😛

    So, K takes care of Risha @ night time? Mine tho just snors away in the next bedroom waking up to play with her only in the morning.

    Ah, pretty long comment already..cath ya on email later. 🙂

  • 9. chandni  |  March 12, 2010 at 11:24 am

    awwwwwwwwwwww this is such a warm post…I am smiling silly imagining the clueless household!!!!!

    All the best and show us pics too 🙂

    btw my sis had her second baby yesterday, and that is a baby boy 🙂

    Clueless: Congrats!!! That is awesome news….you put up pics too!!

  • 10. Rohini  |  March 15, 2010 at 3:33 am

    Going back to work is heartbreaking, no matter when one does it. Hope you settle down into it and feel better soon…

    It’s so true about them growing out of clothes. I have hardly bought anything for Tarana but even with the clothes we were gifted, she had outgrown her 0-3 months clothes, hardly having worn them…

    Rummy’s licking and grandpa’s Koli Mari made me laugh out loud 🙂

  • 11. Abha  |  March 30, 2010 at 9:43 am

    🙂

    what fun!! 🙂 am sure the whole work – nanny routine will settle down soon enough!

    and am so glad to find other people who dont mind taking hand me down stuff. Cub still gets a lot of it from his cousins, i am sure the money saved can be used for his school! :p

    but seriously it is a waste to buy too much for l’il ones who outgrow everything so soon!

    Risha sounds totally cute!!

    haffun you guys!

    cheers!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

