Stumped.

December 23, 2009 at 3:34 am 20 comments

Yesterday, K and I went to the car dealership to pick up our new family friendly ride. While we were there signing away and taking on yet another loan, the sales rep asked me if I was expecting twins. Thanks to modern technology, I know for sure that I am NOT expecting twins. So I told him that. He just proceeded to comment “Oh…so you are just eating a lot then huh?”

I don’t know how to react to that. Period.

PS: Looks like the baby is going after K’s side of the family! All of his siblings were born…lets say….healthy!

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

Of moms and storytelling A brand new baby

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. comfortablynam  |  December 23, 2009 at 4:38 am

    Ouch..I would have caused bodily harm to the person if that comment was made at me while I was expecting. You are taking this real well.
    From this comment I am guessing you very very close. Good luck. There a lot of fun times in store for you 🙂

    Clueless: I don’t know how I held back….the best part is that I am on the lower end of recommended weight gain! Thanks for the wishes….i am 36 weeks along…so barel a month to go!

  • 2. comfortablynam  |  December 23, 2009 at 4:50 am

    Truthfully guys have no clue on how big women become in the end and they lack the sensitive bone. If you are on the lower end of recommened weight gain you are doing great.
    Yay, a week to go before you are full term..Not to scare you or anything but sleep as much as you can before the baby comes. Trust me on that.. 😀

  • 3. chroniclesofdee  |  December 23, 2009 at 6:27 am

    Jerk!! But then even Amma was asked repeatedly if she was carrying twins when I was born.. So much so, that I was born in HAL hospital, they told Amma to check with a BIG hospital too..

    Needless to say, I was only 1 thing that popped out of her tummy and the biggest baby born there at that time..

    Seriously I was soo fat, I was like a blob.. My parents fought with each other because they did nt want to carry me 🙂

    Clueless: Oh K was a total blob too…I think blobby babies are cute 🙂 I have seen the weirdest things…my friend who barely looked pregnant gave birth to a 9 pounder!

  • 4. Abha  |  December 23, 2009 at 8:56 am

    seriously? he must have never seen a pregnant woman then!! moron!!!!

    Clueless: Ahem….I agree!

  • 5. Sue  |  December 23, 2009 at 9:15 am

    I would have just complimented him on his tactfulness and said that his comment made me feel really good. And left him trying to work it out.

    Grrr

    Clueless: Oh I wish I had your tact! I was left trying not to look too startled 😦

  • 6. divz  |  December 23, 2009 at 9:36 am

    had it been me, I would have snorted back with
    “oh so how many times have you been pregnant mister, to share that gem of wisdom with me?”

    gah! mean man. me no likes.
    proly got jealous with your skin’s glow…

    healthy baby it is, mamma fat or not!
    😀 😀

    Clueless: LOL! Again….you guys have such wit…I just get flabbergasted…will file away replies for future use.

  • 7. DewdropDream  |  December 23, 2009 at 9:59 am

    Aieee … ouch! Ignorant twerp! May he gain so much weight that people ask HIM if he’s carrying twins. Hmpfh!

    And I guess your readers have taken care of reacting on your behalf 😀

    Clueless: Me loves my readers! twerp was not only ignorant but supremely dumb because we were buying a car from him…what if I had just walked away?? (which I did not because the ass gave us a really good deal)

  • 8. La Vida Loca  |  December 23, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    but as non preggers you are so tiny…maybe that’s why?

    Clueless: Thanks 🙂 You need to come over…what happened to meeting this week??

  • 9. alwayshappykya  |  December 23, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Such insensitive morons I say! Am sure I would be startled too..fumbling for a good retort 😛

    The best of the answers/responses occur much later for people like me.

    Anyways, just 4 more weeks to go..huh? Woohoo!! 😀 😀
    Attended the birth prep classes yet?

    Congrats again on the new car lady 🙂

    [ Psst: May I know what amnt of extra pounds have u gained at 36 weeks? I am at 29 weeks and have put on around 21 pounds)

    Clueless: At 36 weeks I have gained 25 pounds…you are right on track! Oh yeah I attended child birth classes….they were hilarious till they showed us “the video” and then K and I became silent for a looong time..

  • 10. ilovelucy  |  December 23, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    What the what?! Such a jerk. I probably would have been too stumped to retort too but seriously such morons should not be spared.
    Moving onto good news, so the new car arrives finally 🙂 Which one?

    Clueless: It is a Honda CRV. Yes, we are cool no more!

  • 11. chandni  |  December 24, 2009 at 6:53 am

    what an idiot. You should have told him “khate peete ghar ke hain” 😛

    Clueless: LOL….I just imagined the dialogue in English – “we are from eating-drinking house”

  • 12. supmm  |  December 24, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Lol…had I been there I would have probably asked him how many pairs of twins had he carried till date that he was so very knowledgeable on the issue 😛

  • 13. La Vida Loca  |  December 28, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    hey u still want to meet up? sent you an e mail looog back…

  • 14. Solilo  |  December 29, 2009 at 10:14 am

    I was asked if I was carrying triplets just because I was of a tiny frame with a huge tummy. The kiddo was barely 7 lbs. 😀

  • 15. chandni  |  January 4, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Got something for you on the blog babe. Come, get it!!!

  • 16. Miss M  |  January 5, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Cluelessness, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed the little treasure hunt and loved every bit of it! Wishing you lots and lots of love,

    M 🙂

    PS- I did read your blog, but was a silent reader. And had too much fun planning the baby shower for you and the rest. 🙂

  • 17. Swaram  |  January 5, 2010 at 6:31 am

    First time here from the online baby shower … Gud luck to u 🙂

    LOL @ that crazy man 😉 I wud hv given a hard punch on his nose 😛

  • 18. Miss M  |  January 6, 2010 at 1:07 am

    Hiiii mommy-to-be! 🙂

    Didn’t get a chance to congratulate personally, but I hope you enjoyed our lil’ baby shower hunt yesterday! 😀 You mommies are very smart and too quick- all finishing one by one. 🙂

    Anyways, i have been a silent reader of your blog for quite some time now and was more than happy to do this for you and be a part of it. Hope we made your day with it babe! 🙂

    So here I am introducing myself- The Bongette aka Miss M. Am sure you’ve seen my blog during the blog hunt. 😉

    Anyhoo, CONGRATULATIONS again babe!! Can’t wait for the little one to arrive. I hope you are in the pink of health and having a fabulous pregnancy- getting pampered and all 😀

    Lots and lots of love to you
    -big hug-

    Clueless: Thanks Miss M! I loved stopping by your blog and thanks so much for making this surprise shower so wonderful!

  • 19. DewdropDream  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:17 am

    May we please have a new post Miss? Pretty please? I promise I will be a well behavd child 😐

  • 20. Rohini  |  January 17, 2010 at 5:11 am

    Oof the things people say to pregnant women! I think I did a post on that once.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

