Of moms and storytelling

December 11, 2009 at 12:22 am 12 comments

One of the most fairytale like aspects of motherhood is storytelling. It conjures up images of you in bed next to your little one, telling them stories of lands far far away. Or telling them stories of brave and strong heroes who ate their vegetables every day when it comes time for food. When I was a little girl, I had some trouble getting food down my throat. Ofcourse, my mom told me stories – nay – a single story every day (because that was the only story I wanted) to help food ease down my screaming throat. And what was that magical story – you might ask. Well here it goes….

One day, when Amma was in the bank (thats where she still works), a really really huge cockroach came in (yeahΒ  you heard it right – cockroach). The cockroach was so big that it was bigger than everyone. And it threatened to eat everyone in the bank. All bank people were very scared and did not know what to do. Just when the cockroach was about to eat someone, Clueless came into the bank with her gun (Yes, I had an air gun when I was 5 years old. You could put stones into it and it shot them out with a *plop* sound).Β  Then, Clueless took her gun and shot the cockroach and it died. Everyone clapped. The End.

I still can’t understand for the life of me why I was so interested in cockroaches. I guess my mom did not analyse too much either – if the story worked and I ate peacefully, she had no complaints with my cockroach obsession. Today, we have become a little too obsessed with doing the politically correct things I guess. No one will willingly tell their kid a story of how they killed a cockroach with a gun. What if they grow up to be serial killers or something?

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

The end of cool Stumped.

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tearsndreams  |  December 11, 2009 at 3:59 am

    The story is uncannily similar to the kinds I tell my daughter. When the goal is to get a fussy child to eat, political correctness goes out the window. My stories revolve around giant spiders who are scared of only big and strong children (who eat)..children who do not eat have to go and spend the night in the garage with the spiders…Then there is this another story about a girl who lives in a big castle with a huge toy room, but she can’t get in. Because the door is jammed. And u need muscles to open it. But then u have to drink milk. I have many, many more with the same moral lessons.
    I can so empathize with ur mother. Losing patience is the last thing u want to do after spending the dat at work, hence the crazy stories.
    so are you saying its not gonna change till she is 5?

    Clueless: LOL! I WANTED the exact same story everyday, my mom was more creative with my sister….they involved ducks, hens and many more creatures. What will I do…heck I don’t know! Right now I am just amused at how these stories of cockroach killings by a trigger happy little girl could be perceived!

  • 2. chroniclesofdee  |  December 11, 2009 at 6:23 am

    LOL @ d cockroach story πŸ™‚

    Maybe u can teach ur lil one to be mamma’s hero/heroine and shoot any bird that flaps their wings near u..

    Bwahahahhah

    Clueless: Oh yeah. Then my lil one will repeat it at school and then the authorities will come take mamma away and put her in an asylum. Sigh! I miss India so much, I could tell whatever stories I wanted and kill as many birds/ cockroaches in them as I wish.

  • 3. chroniclesofdee  |  December 11, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Ayyo rama, idhu berena?

    Seriously, we have (had) mentally deranged parents and we are just fine.. Amreekans are too scared for their own good..

    Oh, the baby will be Amreekan no? So, u need to probably take self defense classes against birds for both u and the baby πŸ˜€

    Clueless: Yeah, they over analyze everything here a little too much. So much protective gear for children…I say let them fall a couple of times and scrape their knees -they will learn. And yes, my baby will be pukka ABCD πŸ˜€

  • 4. divz  |  December 11, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Clueless the cockroach slayer πŸ™‚
    Me likes!

    I am terrible in making up stories… The story telling parent would be AB for sure, whenever that happens πŸ™‚
    Here’s an old post where I wrote about it –
    http://celestialrays.blogspot.com/2009/08/once-upon-time.html

    Clueless: I think my mom was not really in the top rungs for making up stories either! Don’t worry, when time comes your survival instinct will kick in and stories will start pouring out automatically :p

  • 5. petersteels  |  December 11, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    that was nice to the story that really nice to read.. for more information regarding Pittsburgh memoir writing, Pittsburgh storytelling, Pittsburgh corporate communication
    u can visit http://jayspeyerer.com/

  • 6. comfortablynam  |  December 11, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    You can change cockroach with Dragon and the little one can save himself and his loved ones.. πŸ™‚ ..
    Me thinks your nesting instincts are kicking in at a high gear right now..don’t tell me you are cleaning, organizing like crazy along with all this remembering stories..

    Clueless: Does baking an entire tray of banana nut cake and eating it all up count as nesting?? But yes, I am getting panic attacks about nesting and will probably start buying useless pretty stuff this weekend!

  • 7. alwayshappykya  |  December 11, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    You still remember the stories amma told you when you were 5 yrs old? Baap re..I cannot recall what stories I heard when I was twice that age πŸ˜›

    My Amma tells me what a pain in the a** I was when it came to eating…and that she had to lure me with pieces of junk food first..before the actual veggies went inside πŸ˜€

    If your baby gets the exact genes..s/he might like huge cockroach stories too..you can convert it into aliens from another world attacking humans ..and the baby destroying them all with his/her special machine.

    Wait..now THAT sounds similar already..MIB? πŸ˜€

    Clueless: One thing that I desperately pray for is that the baby takes after K when it comes to eating. He was a mother’s dream – he would actually cry if his food bowl was not filled to the absolute brim! Me…kind of your case when it comes to eating. But I guess I was pretty gullible too because if my mom told me “Clueless – idli is your favorite na…why are you not eating it??”, I would actually believe idli is my favorite and eat it!

  • 8. The Print Lover  |  December 11, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    My friend has a funny story. She wanted her butter milk extremely sour and her sister wanted it sweet. So their mum would make 2 glasses and painstakingly label which one was sour and which one was sweet.

    Only recently they came to know that both glasses had the same buttermilk. She was just playing a trick on their gullible minds πŸ™‚

    Clueless: LOL! Moms are very cunning…honed by necessity to stay sane I guess! (I am being forgiving of moms and all their tricks…after all I am crossing over to the other side! )

  • 9. comfortablynam  |  December 11, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    LOL..actually the baking is part of nesting..eating it all by yourself is nerves..and babes trust me all you need is a car seat and car to put the car seat in..the rest of the essentials the hospital takes care..
    But again..a girl should take up any excuse on buying pretty stuff πŸ™‚

    Clueless: wow! I am nesting then! Actually, I was browsing through this cake decorator’s page and I suck at baking. So I was overcome by this urge to bake something to prove that I can bake. Car is almost there….selling off K’s Mustang for a SUV. Carseat….actually I am waiting for people to present me that one :p

  • 10. ilovelucy  |  December 11, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    But I guess I was pretty gullible too because if my mom told me β€œClueless – idli is your favorite na…why are you not eating it??”, I would actually believe idli is my favorite and eat it!

    That is so frickking HILARIOUS!!! Strangely enough, the only memories of story telling as a kid are those of this classmate of mine called Roma Bajpai. She used to tell the best stories ever. Like I mean the very best and they were all made up and thought of at that very instant. And this was when we were in the 3rd grade! Amazingly talented that girl was.

    Clueless: You must have been a good eater then…. :p Have you kept in touch with Roma? What did she grow up to be?? I would like to imagine she became a childrens’ books author…or works in advertising…

  • 11. ilovelucy  |  December 15, 2009 at 1:34 am

    No idea what Ms.Bajpai is upto….but now that you mention it, I am curious to find too! πŸ™‚
    Hows the car hunt coming along?

    Clueless: The mustang got sold today, we have decided on the make and model of the car….now we are waiting for our home refinance to complete so that we can go ahead with the car loan….don’t want too many credit checks while home loan closing is in progress…the banks are so nervous now that they will create issues even if we cough out of turn!

  • 12. AverageJane  |  December 24, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Gosh. Have you read the discussions on whether or not to read Li’l red riding hood to your kids and also about Ba Ba Black Sheep being //insert R word//.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

