The end of cool

December 1, 2009 at 12:47 am 8 comments

Not so long ago, I remember how I bought my first car. I had seen the newly released model online and was really fascinated that the roof was completely transparent. And it was a sports car. And I could afford it. So the next day, I walked up to the dealer and bought my new two-door car. Just like that. I did not even have a drivers license. I don’t know how I convinced the insurance guy to even insure my car. When I sent pics of my car to my parents, my mother was worried that the car had only TWO doors. Her logic was simple – when I was paying “so much” forย  a car, it should come properly equipped with four doors. And what was I to do when I had a “family”? I had cooly replied to my mom that my spouse would have the “family” car and she need not worry about it.

And then, I married K. Who had a Mustang. Not only was it a two door car, but it was almost impossible for anyone to sit in the backseat without cutting their legs off. Thankfully, when we got Rummy home, he managed not to sit like a human in the backseat and the arrangement worked beautifully for us. So far. Now I have a belly that looks like it is ready to pop any minute and there is no way on earth a baby car seat AND a dog are going to fit in the back of any two door car. Not to mention that Rummy does not wear a seat beat and goes sommersaulting everytime we hit the brakes hard – which was fine too until now because he had the whole back seat to roll in. So yeah, getting to the point, we are selling of one of our first loves to buy a sensible SUV that will house an entire family without any acrobatics involved. Too bad I cannot hail autos here and keep our car a little longer.

This time the process has been so different. First we came up with a budget. Four years ago I would not even know how much money I had in my account. Second, we checked out the safety ratings on all the models we were interested in. Roll over test, crash test, air bags – the whole nine yards. And then we test drove one model after another and further narrowed our search based on things like traction control, ABS (some advanced breaking mechanism – I think ) and other such weird features that I had never considered before. Engine power was considered only in terms of cargo capacity. And yes, we had one other criteria – the backย  cargo space should be high enough for our dog to stand and put his head out of the window.

For the last criteria, K carried a measuring tape to measure the height of the cargo area in every model we tested. Some made the cut and some did not. And one Desi car salesman was frustrated enough to yell at us saying “Are you buying the car for the dog or for yourself?”ย  – which pissed us off a great deal. And yes, his models did not make the cut. No wonder. All diversion tactics.

So yes, we have finally zeroed in on a model that fits our wallet, our dog and our baby. K is now in the haggle-phase with all dealers in a 50 mile radius to see who has the best deal. We will be trading off the Mustang and a part of our carefree lives along with it. Every now and then I see K hugging the steering wheel a little tighter and even planting a kiss on it when he thinks no one is looking. I know how you feel babes, and I know my car’s turn will come too. Hopefully not too soon.

A pic of the cutest looking dog because of whom we let go of a few car models, got yelled at by a salesman and who always leaves a mark on my car’s upholstery with his never ending shedding..

 

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

My dog is a drama queen Of moms and storytelling

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chroniclesofdee  |  December 1, 2009 at 2:31 am

    This is such a lovely post!!

    Amma has been asking us to remove the woofers and the junk that we ALWAYS throw in the back seat.. she is worried that one day when we have a child and its strapped in the back, we are accidentally going to chuck a bottle of water on it!

    As for goldie, whether we had a 2 door or 4 door would not have mattered, because Queen Cleopatra that she is, she only sits in the front passenger seat for the view through the windshield ๐Ÿ˜€

    Clueless: Queen Cleopatra! lol! Our car’s back is a trash can too….we are learning to be somewhat organized..lets see where it goes!

  • 2. comfortablynam  |  December 1, 2009 at 4:33 am

    Aaww..I feel kind of sad for K..since we recently went through the process of things to buy for the baby, safety rating galore..and the work, I totally know what you guys are going through..
    Hang in there..baby will make it worth it..sort of ๐Ÿ™‚

    Clueless: Hanging on….thanks for the support

  • 3. divz  |  December 1, 2009 at 9:24 am

    awww
    kissing the steering wheel?
    awww

    Clueless: Don’t go all awww…..this is how K gets his way most of the time!

  • 4. La Vida Loca  |  December 1, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    lol

    Clueless: I will wait for your turn :p

  • 5. justaroundme  |  December 1, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Babies induce us to all kinds of “attitude-overhaul”,”persona-change” treatments even before they are born!!..quite amazing.Enjoy your ride on the new “The Family” car…

    Clueless: Thanks….the “family car” is yet to make its arrival. We are getting last minute cold feet…

  • 6. alwayshappykya  |  December 3, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Oye..congratulations ..new car and all that ! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Hold on tight to your 2 door car as long as you can..am guessing you can do with one big one until baby sits up and demands to go out na? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    H had a motorbike and he gave it up on craigslist last month…was depressed for weeks later. Poor boy!

    We are looking for a SUV now. Sigh!

    [ Was away on a vacation and back recently. Will write up a post soon]

    Clueless: Have not ‘bought’ the new car yet, but it is pretty much decided. The things we do for our kids I tell you…they better appreciate it!! All the best on your SUV hunt – as for me I am sick of test driving and happy that K finally settled in on a model after his “points” system and what not.

  • 7. AverageJane  |  December 24, 2009 at 9:31 am

    I was never cool I guess. I still drive this rickety old dabba car that the husband bought in grad school days. Sigh! 2 unsolicited cents: Go in for a minivan while you are at it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 8. Roop Rai  |  January 8, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    lol!! we might have to head t hat direction too. and get rid of the part of life that i don’t want to let go of!!!

    SUV. sigh! sadly, that day might come soon.

    typically american family you guys are now. haha

    Clueless: I am trying hard not to be typical anyone….but I guess the herd just happens to be where I am going! lol!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

