My dog is a drama queen

November 11, 2009 at 11:39 pm 6 comments

I decided to take a break from all my pregnancy related banter and talk to you today about Rummy. For the past 6 weeks that my FIL has been staying with us, Rummy has had a one way love affair with him. As in, Rummy tries to get every opportunity to lick my FIL’s hands and wags his tail at him in the most doggily seductive manner, but has been suitably ignored by FIL. All this rejection my poor dog has been taking pretty well, except for one fine day…..

Well, my SIL had come over to visit my FIL when me and K were away at work. Now, Rummy conducts a one way love affair with my SIL also. Except that she does not respond because she is still a little scared of Rummy (which I have tried to explain to her is like being scared of something as harmless as cookies…but still ). Anyways, SIL and FIL were both talking away, ignoring Rummy like they usually do. And my dog as usual was sleeping on his bed pretending not to care, when in reality he would have come running to them if they even looked in his direction. And then it happend. When sending my SIL away, apparently FIL and SIL had a small argument at the door. Now, Rummy thinks he is a peacekeeper from United Nations, only that he is of the canine variety. So he ran to the door and stood between both of them. And they both got a little scared. Soon, they got over it and my SIL tried to get into her van. Rummy decided to take the opportunity to get a ride for himself and hopped into SIL’s van and was uncermoniously kicked out.

This was the trigger for Rummy who loves car rides more than anything else on earth. And I guess his feelings were a little hurt too. So in true Gandhian fashion, he went and threw himself on the road in front of SIL’s van. And refused to get up. For two people who are a little scared of dogs, moving a 80 pounder off the road is no easy task. My FIL tried yelling at him, calling him softly. Nothing worked. He even got a nice banana from his personal statch and offered it to Rummy. But Rummy was ofcourse too hurt to even consider it even though normal circumstances would have him drooling at any food.

Finally after 15 minutes of dharna, I guess the road got a little too hot for Rummy’s comfort. So he got up and cooly walked back to the house to claim his spot under the fan.

When I came home and my FIL told me this, my first reaction was to let out a laugh. But it was quickly stifled by the look on my FIL’s face. But I am sure one day he will see the humor in this story, maybe even tell it to his grand kids. Why, he has already started feeding Rummy a small piece of his dosa every morning and I can almost see his face widen when he sees him every morning.

Here is an “innocent” pic of my drama queen…

100_1828

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

Sprinting to the finish line The end of cool

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. soin  |  November 12, 2009 at 3:23 am

    if only all drama queens can quit it after 15 mins.. the dog looks lazy.. my frnd dog is quite similar.. if anyone comes it just raises it head and goes back to sleep..free

    Clueless: Mine is excited for approximately 30 seconds when someone comes home…he brings them his toys and everything. And after that he couldn’t care less..lol

  • 2. chroniclesofdee  |  November 12, 2009 at 4:58 am

    lol lol lol lol

    Hell, that was drama queen personified.. I cannot believe he did that!!

    Goldie whines at anyone who goes into the bathroom and when they come out she is soo relieved that she starts going in circles..
    Maybe she is scared that they may fall down the toilet πŸ˜€

    Clueless: LOL!! Goldie is a very concerned dog, she wants to make sure the guests are peeing properly hehehe

  • 3. La Vida Loca  |  November 12, 2009 at 7:01 am

    lol
    will be soo interesting to see the baby join this mix.

    Clueless: Interesting?? that is the best case scenario I am hoping for!

  • 4. divz  |  November 12, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    awww
    you making me have a one way love affair with Rummy now!
    πŸ™‚

    Clueless: Rummy always loves back….he is a true Casanova that way!

  • 5. The Print Lover  |  November 12, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    LOL! This is a funny tale and you’ve narrated it very well.

    Every time I come and read 2-3 posts in a shot, leave a comment and leave. I should come here regularly.

  • 6. alwayshappykya  |  November 12, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Awww…I just want to bundle him up and cuddle ..and pour hundreds of kisses on his cutie soft face NOW!

    Times like these I wish H was a little more open minded about having pets..I adore them while he tries to run away 😦

    Clueless: Why don’t you just stop by sometime?? Rummy LOVES having company πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

