Shining example of organization on K’s side of the family

September 9, 2009 at 2:29 am 21 comments

Of late,  I have been craving for Aloo buns from the Iyengar bakeries of Bangalore. For the non-Bangaloreans, Aloo bun is a bun stuffed with potato curry inside and at the right temperate, it is just a handful of mouth melting goodness. Now, as it happens, my FIL is landing here this weekend, so I thought I will take the opportunity to smuggle some Aloo buns into this insipid country – and because I am preggie and all that, such ridiculous requests of mine are being entertained by everyone for a limited time.

So, I picked up the phone and called Amma and let her know that I wanted Aloo buns. She promptly called my FIL and told him she would be bringing some buns for drop off just before he leaves so that I would have the freshest buns. And that is kind of where her chain of thought ended. But for my FIL, the process had just begun. He called back Amma and told her it would be easier for him to buy the Aloo buns himself since it would have to be last minute and everything. Even then, there was some more room for improvement. So FIL decided that he would buy the Aloo bun on the day of travel and then FREEZE it so that he could carry frozen buns and by the time they crossed seven seas they would be perfect and ready for consumption. But such a process had not been tried before and FIL takes my food related requests to heart. So the sweet soul decided to buy an experimental Aloo bun, freeze it, let it thaw, heat it in the microwave and see if it would still remain fit for my consumption!

The Aloo bun experiment is currently under way and I am awaiting results. Sometimes, in momemts like this I KNOW why I married K and by extension his family. Because they go where no Clueless has gone before!

Edited to add: Method to get Aloo buns on transatlantic flight

1. Buy buns 24 hours before departure and freeze them

2. Just before heading out to the airport, taken the frozen aloo buns and stuff it into luggage

3. As soon as you reach destination, aloo buns are promptly rushed into the freezer again

4. As and when needed, pull out an aloo bun and pop it into the oven. Once sufficiently thawed and warm – gobble them up quickly 🙂

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

It’s not gas! Is it me or is it the hormones??

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dee  |  September 9, 2009 at 5:29 am

    How sweet! Ur FIL is adorable.. I cannot imagine my FIL doing this..

    I wish I knew if anyone was going, we have this JB Bakery in RT Nagar and he makes the most delectable aloo buns; dry and gravy..

    Hugs!

    Clueless: Thanks for the offer Dee! Already I am feeling guilty that my FIL’s luggage is overflowing with Mango pulp and chutneys and what not!

  • 2. DewdropDream  |  September 9, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Aw man, that is so cute!!! And you’re making ME crave aloo buns now. Sigh. And puffs. And dil-pasand. Dammit!

    Clueless: OK…you mention Dil-pasand now?? now?? when my FIL has already finished packing and is testing the luggage allowance limits??? Sigh!

  • 3. Priya  |  September 9, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    LOL. I think your FIl is related to my Dad. Long lost brothers maybe 🙂

    Enjoy every minute of your pg. And if you need anything I can send it to you from here, I live in NJ remember ? The “other” India ?
    Priya.

  • 4. Priya  |  September 9, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    p.s. its going to succeed by the way – your FIL’s experiment. I’ve been freezing bread for a while and it always thaws perfectly. Tell him not to heat the bun until its completely thawed.

    P.

    Clueless: Thanks so much! He plans on freezing and getting it here….no heating in India. I live in bay area too (little India!) but no aloo bun can stand up to these!

  • 5. AverageJane  |  September 9, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    Man, what would it take to franchise an Iyengar bakery here? I even floated the idea of opening a branch in the US to my neighbourhood bakery in BLR but that guy was saying “madam, upahara darshini aware US alli open maadak hedarthidaare. alli condition bere madam” etc. Then I asked my dad to go talk to UD about opening a branch here (as he knows the UD people somewhat) and he came back with the same explanation. Uhuh! :(Think of me when you are wolfing down them palya buns, that’s all I can ask for now. And a shout out to the nice FILs out there. 🙂

    Clueless: You just spoke my heart! I would personally invest in a Darshini in the US. All these people here don’t know how to make proper masala dosas or just plain vada sambhar! A shout out to FILs is long overdue! We are so busy seeing how they are different from us that we fail to notice all the awesome things they do for our sakes!

  • 6. DewdropDream  |  September 10, 2009 at 10:34 am

    There is a serious lack of decent south indian restaurants out here as well. What exactly is the issue with UD opening in the US though?

    FIL can still stuff a little dil-pasand in his hand luggage no? 😀 I would have.

    Clueless: Don’t even suggest that….K’s side considers packing as a sacred ritual that cannot be messed with!

  • 7. Divya  |  September 10, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Hey first time here…
    Lovely post!
    Your FIL is so sweet 🙂
    I can imagine your child will be royally pampered!!!

    Clueless: Welcome 🙂 and touch wood…I hope so too!

  • 8. AverageJane  |  September 10, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    DewdropDream: This is a recap from when my dad met the owner of UD 2 years ago. The owner claims he is afraid of untested waters. He says people like Saravana Bhavan have the experience but apparently even Kamat failed in opening branches overseas. And he even went into nitty gritties: apparently dose hiTTu (batter) needs to be fresh for the best dosas but if they don’t get the kind of volume of customers they get at UD then they have to store the dose hiTTu in the fridge. And he claims once the dose hiTTu goes in the fridge it loses its salient properties, not-to-mention the fact that he wants it to come back to room temperature before he can serve the next customer which will decrease the speed of service to a great extent. And there was also a longer infodump on how chutneys will not taste the same or puDis will not taste the same because of the difference in basic ingredients like coconut, red chilli etc.

  • 9. sraikh  |  September 10, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    I’m sure you are counting down the days to his arrival.

    Clueless: I am! It is only 48 more hours to go 😀

  • 10. DewdropDream  |  September 11, 2009 at 9:39 am

    AverageJane: Why, thank you for the explanation! I understand their fears about the ingredients not being the very same and therefore messing with the taste (although that then brings up the question as to how Saravana Bhavan do it) … when I landed in London, for the longest time the tomatoes and onions here felt strange … pity though that they’re backing off because they’d have a huge fan base ready for them.

    Clueless: Pity…because I would honestly invest my own money with them…I know they will have the demand!

  • 11. alwayshappykya  |  September 14, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Wowww! Hat’s off to the FIL 😀

    Am lovign this stage where people are ready to go that extra mile and do somethign to keep yo happy..hehehe..good times!

    Enjoy maadi 🙂

    Hope the Aloo Bun arrives as yumm as you expect it girlie.

    Clueless: The aloo bun survived the transatlantic ride and was declared fit for consumption after my FIL force-fed it to K!

  • 12. The Print Lover  |  September 15, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Came here from Average Jane. Congratulations!!

    And your house (in the deication post) looks gorgeous! So airy and well lit!

    Clueless: Thanks! and Thanks! 🙂

  • 13. thethoughtbug  |  September 16, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Loved the post. And lucky-you to have sweetest of the people around:)

    thethoughtbug

  • 14. DewdropDream  |  September 23, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Update please!!! did you like the aloo-buns? What have you been upto? (I’m sorry if that’s a nonsense question)

    Clueless: The update is that all the aloo buns have been digested! Will post soon!

  • 15. that girl in pink  |  September 23, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    your fil sounds absolutely delightful! the little experiment is too cute. lucky baby- to be surrounded by such a loving and fun family.

    Clueless: Thanks so much!

  • 16. Khushi  |  September 24, 2009 at 8:04 am

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW!
    bisi bisi aloo bun from Iyengar bakery makes me go slurrrrrrp!
    Next time, even i’ll use this idea 😀 thanks 😀

    Clueless: Please do…freezing works beautifully on buns!

  • 17. DewdropDream  |  October 2, 2009 at 9:54 am

    I think I’m going to follow your directions and bring back aloo buns. I would parcel you some dil-pasand if we’d lived in the same country 😦

    How’re things?

  • 18. Indian Homemaker  |  October 7, 2009 at 5:48 am

    Aww… how adorable is that!!! Your FIL is a JKG!!!! 🙂

    Clueless: I think both K and FIL are!

  • 19. Rohini  |  October 7, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    You just brought on a midnight craving for them buns 😦

    Clueless: 🙂 You are in Mumbai – the city that never sleeps! Go get them!

  • 20. Viaplypap  |  November 24, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Awesome, I didn’t heard about that until now. Thanks!

  • 21. Swaram  |  January 5, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Oh my! Cn somebody be so so sweet 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

