It’s not gas!

September 3, 2009 at 7:09 pm 28 comments

I have been hee-hawing about how to do this post.  I mean, I don’t want to make an “announcement” as such, and I have tried various permutations of stories it can fit into. But I guess there is no other way to do this than give it to you straight. I AM KNOCKED UP.  There – it is out of my system now. I can scamper off and comment on all those preggie blogs saying “me too!! me too!!”

PS: I will not be saying “I am starting a family” or “I am going the family way” because I believe I already have a wonderful family and in that sense I am already IN the family way. First-born definitely is a most anticipated add-on.

I am 20 weeks along now and by about 15 weeks, I started showing. Everybody who looked at me believed that I must be preggie, except for dear K. WHO THOUGHT IT WAS GAS. I mean you can’t have gas for 2 whole weeks can you? But Sir was still skeptical. Until we had the first ultrasound that showed a tiny alien looking creature wriggling around in my belly. My baby! That moment was the most awesome one I can think of till now.  A whole new life inside me! And yes, K no longer thinks it is gas.

My mom has been pretty helpful so far.  She has been trying to look up baby names on the internet and she even called up all excited because she had found a few good ones:

Mom: Clueless, I found some really nice names online

Clueless: Thats nice ma…which alphabet?

Mom:  I want to find some in every alphabet! I am getting there!

Clueless: OK..tell me the ones you found

Mom: I forgot

Clueless: Whaa??

Mom: Yeah, I did not write them down and now I don’t remember them

Thanks a lot ma! At this rate, the baby names list will remain unpopulated until I pop and then your grandkid will be named John Doe or Jane Doe by the creative hospital staff.  Thats because K and I are so uncreative that we tried thinking up nicknames for the baby and so far we have ended up calling our would-be-first-born all the nicknames we call our dog with. Sigh!

So, finally this blog is going to get some fodder because now I can talk about the things I have been dying to share. From the awesome food my ILs keep bringing over to hilarious attempts at training Rummy the textbook way to be ready for a baby.  Exhale!

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

Devotion Shining example of organization on K’s side of the family

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shilpadesh  |  September 3, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    First time here. Congrats!

  • 2. AverageJane  |  September 3, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    Congratulations and best wishes for a smooth ride. 🙂

  • 3. priya  |  September 3, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Oh, I forgot to add in the email :

    When I was driving over to be induced for A’s birth in Apr (2009), the husband and I said to each other “we’d better think of a name for this kid”.
    Then we proceeded to procrastinate until it was time for us to check out and named the kid two minutes before his release form was typed up !! (Mostly because if you don’t name the kid in the hospital you have to go personally to the county office ….and we could be bothered to)

    So you guys have plenty of time. On a more serious note – wait until you see your baby to name him/her – sometimes the name you pick out just doesn’t “fit” the kid you have.

    again, hugs to you.
    Priya

    Clueless: LOL! I want to have a couple of names shortlisted to see which one “fits” the child. Hopefully. If my mom co-operates.

  • 4. sraikh  |  September 3, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    Were you the unnamed one in Poppin’s list?

    YAY Congrats. Welcome to the dark side. Talking about names, want to hear my long story?

    The girls have A names..when preggo with my third alien, who was A BOY, I didnt want another A name but my stubborn spouse said NO we have to have A name. I searched high and low and fell in love with Antrishk(btw you can have this name if you want and have a boy rofl) My dh then said it sounded like Anthrax and wanted Arnav(which means Ocean). I said whatevah, gave him a middle name and told everyone his name is Neil.

    Then pregnant with 4th(hello never buy Made in Malaysia Durex condoms) again the same A name nosense and I couldnt find a sensible A name. To make things worse, everyone(relatives and family) told us we were crazy for having 4th and blah blah, and I was so pissed that we named him Abhimaan. but to protest again against dh, I gave him a middle name Samar(battleground) and thats what everyone calls.

    Longest comment award right here!

    Clueless: No no…I was not the unnamed one… and LOL at your name story…though Arnav and Abhimaan are lovely names. So all is well that ends well 🙂 I don’t believe in rhyming names too but I guess that battle I will get to fight later. For now, I just need a name! Btw…I loved Antrishk, but now that it has the Anthrax reference, I can’t get over it. Do you know a good website with nice names??

  • 5. Silvara  |  September 3, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    congrats darl!! 😀

    Clueless: Thank ya!

  • 6. sraikh  |  September 4, 2009 at 12:36 am

    I just spent hours googling Indian baby names. So far, since I have such a common name, I want my kids to have unique ones.
    Ashwina means wind
    Avasha means Independent.

    Have yet to come across someone else having either name

    Ohh I also sifted through websites with sanskrit words and would have a master list. Are you planning to find out the gender of the baby?

    Clueless: Those names sound so lovely! I already know the sex of my baby, but I want to hold on to the secret as long as possible 😀

  • 7. La Vida Loca  |  September 4, 2009 at 5:36 am

    YAYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    CONGRATSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

    Clueless: Thanks!!! Now that my morning sickness phase is over…we should definitely meet up for some grub!

  • 8. Dee  |  September 4, 2009 at 6:02 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!!

    Woohoo, awesome news..

    Teaching Rummy to accept the baby? Don they naturally get super protective or avoid the baby like the plague? Goldie runs like a mile away from them!!

    Clueless: Rummy swings between loads of licking or hiding under the table. But here in the You Yes of A they write a book about everything just to scare the crap out of new parents!

  • 9. the mad momma  |  September 4, 2009 at 7:59 am

    yayyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!! ccongratulations sweetheart. this is awesome news!

    Clueless: Thanks MM 🙂

  • 10. Titaxy  |  September 4, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    congratulations!!!

    Clueless: Thanks!

  • 11. Indian Homemaker  |  September 5, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Congratulations 🙂 And not at all surprised it was thought to be gas 🙂 I thought I had jaundice because I couldn’t imagine what else could possibly cause so much nausea 🙂

    Clueless: Thanks! And we knew I was knocked up…just that K refused to attribute my expanding belly to anything else DESPITE knowing!

  • 12. DewdropDream  |  September 6, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Oh my!!!! Congratulations!!!!

  • 13. ilovelucy  |  September 8, 2009 at 2:48 am

    Hey M, that is AWESOME news!!!!!! Many many congratulations!!!

    Clueless: Thanks so much! I am waiting on your next blog post…its been a while!

  • 14. cynicaldee  |  September 8, 2009 at 5:37 am

    Lady,

    Blogosphere congrats!When r we meeting for Lotus Salad again:)

  • 15. cynicaldee  |  September 8, 2009 at 5:38 am

    Lady,

    Blogosphere congrats:) When r we meeting for Lotus Salad again?

    Clueless: Very very soon! And pick up your phone!!!!!

  • 16. Sowmya  |  September 14, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Congrats!

    I am here to say – “me too!”

    Good luck 🙂

    Clueless: Congrats to you too 🙂

  • 17. monikamanchanda  |  September 14, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    first time here hopped over from Dee… congrats on the amazing news!!

    Clueless: Thanks so much! And welcome 🙂

  • 18. alwayshappykya  |  September 14, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    I can’t believe this..I had to come over from Dee’s to see you have the ‘announcement’ post here already!

    Been long since I came here for updates..thought you were still resting 😀

    Pliss to ignore my question on the email today. I feel stupid..hehe

    Hearty wishes to you my dear MTB dost 🙂

    {{Hugs}}

  • 19. alwayshappykya  |  September 14, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    OOPS! My brain wiring is way too mixed up.Arrgh!

    Didn’t mean the last comment ( mentioning email..blah blah)..and now can’t find a way to delete it 😦

    I am in touch with another blog friend who is also ‘knocked up’ and has not announced yet. My brain cheated on me and somehow put that person here.

    Hearfelt apologies for the mix up dear. The last two lines on the previous comment hold true anyway 🙂

    Very Very Happy wishes and hey, it’s time we start a MTB group around here now 😀

    Clueless: Don’t worry about the prev comment 🙂 This whole announcing this puts lots of confusion into everyone’s heads! And Thanks!

  • 20. Abha  |  September 15, 2009 at 9:31 am

    🙂

    congrats!!! 🙂 hope the pregnancy is as much fun as the process of getting knocked up was!! :p

    even i could enva say i am the family way or something like that. i would just say i am preggers! easiest to understand naah?

    sending lotsa prayers and positive vibes your way!!

    have a super time!

    cheers!

    Clueless: Thanks Abha! Pregnancy started off rocky….but going awesome now!

  • 21. Abha  |  September 15, 2009 at 9:32 am

    oh yeah! came over from Dee’s!! 🙂

    and am sure Rummy (i am guessing thats the dog )will need nay training! saw another couple i similar situ and dog was quite mortified of the kid who showed no fear! 🙂

    hehe!

    Clueless: LOL

  • 22. Cluelessness  |  September 20, 2009 at 6:30 am

    Awesome News… Congrats to you and K… may god bless you and your family with the very best… always…. thought u always had the names settled… 🙂

    Clueless: Thanks! And you think you are sure until the time comes and then you are not sure anymore!

  • 23. Khushi  |  September 24, 2009 at 8:07 am

    Congratulations!!! 🙂

  • 24. Rohini  |  September 24, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    Congratulations! And if it makes you feel any better – at 36 weeks, I still don’ have a boy name that I am happy with!

    Clueless: Thanks! And already our list of names is only growing longer…..I hope you find that special name soon. And congrats on knowing it is a boy!

  • 25. ladyjdiary  |  September 30, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Hello… First time to ur blog.. congrats!!! I think this is the best thing to read on a blog .. a new mommy’s apprehensions and prep for the baby…

    to add on to the above names antedotes… I was so obsessed abt having a girl that hadnt even searched a boy’s name.. thank god i had a daughter… otherwise i wud have to name my son “John Doe”..

  • 26. Swaram  |  January 5, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Whoa! Awesome way to share the news .. I luvvv ur style of writing 🙂

    Clueless: Thanks!

  • 27. Roop Rai  |  January 8, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    ok hold on hold on!! hold onnnn!!!

    i go away for a little bit and you get knocked up!!!?!?!?!?!

    and u didnt figure out for 15 weeks that you were knocked up!?!?!?!?

    😀 *hugggggz* darlin!! i wish you the very very very very very very very best!!! although belated, but equally well meaning as it would’ve been months ago. i am so so so so so happy for you. 🙂 can’t wait to hear more!

    Clueless: Lol! I did know I was pregnant and so did K…my husband just refused to believe that I had started showing and kept insisting it was gas!

  • 28. pistaye  |  March 4, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Congratulations :).

    Hope all goes good.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

