Blast from the past

June 16, 2009 at 1:15 am 9 comments

I think memory always becomes hazy and soft tinted as we look back at our school days. I think our memory becomes what we want to remember about ourselves rather than, you know, those unflattering truths.  So here I sat, with lofty ideas about my school life, when one of my classmates sent out pictures from our 10th grade send off party.

To say it was a jolt would be an understatement.

I mean, what was I thinking? I was wearing a 3/4th “puffed” sleeved salwar suit that could fit two more of me inside it.  The neck of the dress was almost non-existent, almost like the tailor had decided before-hand that he wanted to stitch a polo neck anyways, to heck with whatever neck design I gave him. My eyebrows were as bushy as well fed caterpillars taking a nap and my hair was pulled back really tight in a french plait. I WAS everything I would make fun of today.

My first reaction was to call my mom and ask her how she could have let me go out of the house dressed like that. My mom, ofcourse claimed that she never remembered that salwar, and that I should have probably worn one of my aunts’ salwars and trotted off, like I usually did back then (Ahem….another memory that was conviniently wiped out). In all fairness, my mom has ensured that she always got the best stuff stitched for me and drilled it into my head that I should wear things that FIT me, but somehow this salwar did not look like it belonged to any of my aunts. I remember buying the fabric – for myself. Anyways, I moved on to more important accusations like ahy she combed my hair in such an unflattering fashion and why she did not let me get my eyebrows done like every other girl in my class.  Ok ok…I DO remember that my first tryst with threading was not exactly a success and I swore off it for many years, so that could not have been my mother’s fault, but you know, it is nice to have someone to blame.

K ofcourse was laughing his a** off till he could laugh no more after seeing those photos, which was not very helpful either. I am just waiting for one of his awkward photos to pop up so that I can return the favor. And I don’t have to work too hard at it – all I have to do is ask my FIL to show me some old pictures of K and he will promptly oblige and pull out giant albums filled with photos and exclaim how his son wsa so handsome he could have become a film star. People in glass houses K….remember that.

So the one thing I have learnt from all this is that, the next time I spot an awkwardly dressed teen, I will send out a silent prayer to help get them out of their disillusions before they go to college. And no, I won’t snigger at them.

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

Devil and the Deep Sea Adventures of Clueless – The case of the missing birth certificate

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ersa  |  June 16, 2009 at 2:37 am

    and we, your readers, don’t get a peek on that nicely dressed teen you were talking about? 😉 just kidding !…i totally know what you are talking about….i go thru the same thing when i see snaps of a decade ago 🙂

  • 2. la vida loca  |  June 16, 2009 at 2:38 am

    ok. but I cant promise not sniggering…I will.

    You know, I was dressed that way too. Remember, puff sleeves, frock/umbrella cuts were so in at that time. Gandhi bazar was full of only that stuff. So I refuse to feel bad about that. For that time, I was in. For now I am in too. Who knows in a decade or so from now, how fashion will evolve?

    Clueless: I am not so much feeling embarrassed about the fashion as much as I am feeling for my oversized salwar. My mom always drilled it into me that I need to wear clothes that fit me, not tight, not loose. Thats why I still cringe

  • 3. Serendipity  |  June 16, 2009 at 7:00 am

    Delurking for a minute…

    That reminds me of the FRIENDS flashbacks. Fat Monica, Big Nose Rachel, Weird Hairdo Ross & Chandler 😀

    Actually, it is fun to realize that whatever we wore/did at that time was fashionable for us during those days. It’s only when we look back on these times that we realize how stupid it was 😀

    Clueless: Stupid is not the word! I wore tights with loooong shirts to pre-university. And skirts that went all the way to my chest.

  • 4. Dee  |  June 16, 2009 at 8:19 am

    LOL.. at least u din think wearing jeans with an ethnic ghaghra-bluse was cool.. 😛 No points for guessing who taught it was..

    My mom was quite fashion forward that way, don have too many that I cringe at.. But I had a huge obsession with my mother’s big bindhi and would insist on wearing it all the time!!

    Clueless: Ah…the ghagra and jeans…it was our standard uniform for all “east meets west” kind of events. With a dupatta to boot!

  • 5. Tazeen  |  June 20, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Dont we all have those horror photos from high school days. I had one where I was wearing a satin top in yellow …
    I think I need therapy after seeing my 14 year old self in that ..

  • 6. alwayshappykya  |  June 22, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    I bet every sincere girl on the planet will have at least one horror story like this one to tell from their pasts!

    I liked the way you say – it’s ice to have someone to blame 😉

    Unfortunately, I was solely responsible for all my weird dressing sense..so cannot blame mom now. Sigh.

    Have so much to tell about the blunders , may be I’ll do a post on it someday 😀

  • 7. DewdropDream  |  June 22, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    This is exactly what I like about being grown-up. Don’t have to take fashion advice (dictation?) from older persons and have enough sense to wear what looks good 😀

    I must look through old albums and snigger at myself now… oh to go home!

  • 8. Rohini  |  June 24, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    LOL! So true. Some of my old pics make me wince

  • 9. thethoughtbug  |  September 18, 2009 at 8:51 am

    Lolz… I have a pic in which I have worn oversized glasses. Thanks to those, I don’t even need to own up that the pic is mine:)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

