Home is where…

April 13, 2009 at 5:50 pm 17 comments

…you can decorate and re-decorate all you want. Well, atleast thats what I would say, and K would happily disagree. For him, home is where he can have a view of the TV from his recliner.

Anyways, for me, I have always had an idea of what my home should feel like. The look, the vibe, I have been obsessing since I don’t even know when. So when we finally bought a home, the pressure of my own expectations was so high that I promptly drew a blank.Β  There have been paintings that stayed a while and then went back to retire in the garage. Frames have been changed for the ones I do like. I changed the couches twice – thankfully I was able to sell off the older pair otherwise K would have never forgiven me. And the curtains – that was a saga. With a home that has floor to ceiling glass, it is very hard to find curtains of that length. And width too – one of my glass arrangements is 12 ft wide. And custom curtains in this country cost a bomb.

So finally, with one resigned K, one never say die Clueless and her disillusioned mother – measurements were taken and the curtains were made to order in India. The fabric was bought at Gurjari – that lovely cotton with block prints. Everything was gung-ho till we realised that those curtains weigh a ton and would cost the same bomb to be shipped to the US. Enter FIL – my hero, who decided that since he was travelling to US anyways, he could carry the curtains along. What he did not realize was that he would be carrying ONLY the curtains since nothing else would fit into the luggage, but thats a story for another day.

You would think that with the curtains arriving safely in the US, most of the hurdles were behind us. But we left out one small detail. If we were unable to get ready made curtains that are 12ft wide, then how on earth would we get ready made curtain rods that are that long? The custom curtain rods would cost – you guessed it – a bomb. Or even worse, a kidney.Β  Thankfully, some of K’s engineering carpentry classes came to use as he joined two ready made curtain rods and put them up. They have still not fallen off, so I am hopeful.

At the end of all this drama, this is how it looks

Home

This is what I have on the dining table – also a product of gurjari. It is originally a hanging, but I just made all the horses stand in a row. Aren’t the googly eyes cute??

kavyainsf-032

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

Top 10 signs that I am morphing into an aunty Thai cooking

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. La Vida Loca  |  April 13, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    So pretty!!

    Clueless: thank you! You will still let me decorate your cool downtown apartment right? Even after seeing this?

  • 2. Deepthi  |  April 13, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    V pretty

    Clueless: Thanks! It makes me feel like I got “V. Good” in my classwork at school!

  • 3. i love lucy  |  April 14, 2009 at 12:09 am

    Lovely! Absolutely digging the super high ceiling…gives an illusion of so much more space.
    I totally know what you are talking about since I am pretty much sailing in the same boat! Seems like a never ending process,na!

    Clueless: πŸ™‚ I fell for this place because of the ceilings…otherwise 1200 sq ft looks very crowded. Decorating is so never ending..I have been trying to get onto some show on HGTV so that someone will come and finish the place for me…no luck yet.

  • 4. La Vida Loca  |  April 14, 2009 at 3:20 am

    πŸ™‚ I will be bothering you a lot. I also wanted to add that I completely understand when u say the weight of expectation. I have it so much so that my current apt is mostly undecorated.
    Scary.

    Clueless: I know! When I see superbly kept homes around me and I need to shove stuff into the closet whenever people come over….it kinda makes me nervous

  • 5. Dee  |  April 14, 2009 at 8:38 am

    Sighhh.. ur house is soo pretty… How is that u guys hold a job, maintain a beautiful house and stay thin,, I am soo jealous..:)

    Clueless: You got only one thing right…maintain a job! Weight and home maintainance are thought of only while taking photos. We either suck our tummies in or shove stuff under the bed

  • 6. La Vida Loca  |  April 14, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    Dee dont listen to her! Clueless is stick skinny πŸ˜›
    Yes clueless you are! So there!!

    Clueless: I was sucking my tummy in when I met you too :p

  • 7. Dee  |  April 15, 2009 at 6:04 am

    Aha.. traitor! I am sure ur some model like person who has a wonderful house!!

    That said, good job on it πŸ˜€

    Clueless: Model like person….ha ha…hahahahaha…..you tickle me funny!

  • 8. AlexAxe  |  April 15, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Greatings,
    cluelessness.wordpress.com – da best. Keep it going!

    Have a nice day
    AlexAxe

  • 9. Pett  |  April 20, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Everything dynamic and very positively! πŸ™‚
    Pett

  • 10. Gowri  |  April 26, 2009 at 8:45 am

    Hey where do u buy ur furniture ya? Nice table and nice beeru far behind.

    Clueless: Thanks! The furniture is from all over the place…the table I bought second-hand off craigslist. The beeru is from a place called Scandinavian Designs

  • 11. Ersa  |  April 29, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Wonderful place. Your house looks so pretty !

    Clueless: Thanks!

  • 12. Sands  |  May 6, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    Got here from Priya’s blog. Lovely home & blog. Can totally relate to the whole curtain experience. Just got done with the ones at my house after dreaming about them for many years πŸ™‚

    Clueless: Thanks! and you should put up pics of your curtains so that we ladies can all get some eye candy.

  • 13. Sands  |  May 6, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    will do πŸ™‚ Probably by next week!

  • 14. Roop Rai  |  June 4, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    oh my, cc, that’s beautiful. P would love love love love love your ceiling. i’ll show it to him. we will be looking for a house in a few months. this is very pretty and relaxing. u have to tell fil-curtain story. πŸ™‚

  • 15. Roop Rai  |  June 7, 2009 at 12:17 am

    what is the black pole in the middle, cc?

    Clueless: Thats actually the chimney of the fireplace, or rather a wood stove. We thought it was quirky when we bought the house, now it is just weird!

  • 16. the mad momma  |  June 11, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    wow! it looks aesome!! i LOVE the colours and the pebbles it opens up to on the left. its like a resort!

    Clueless: Thanks! Really appreciate it coming from you, your home is so pretty and you are so resourceful and crafty! Before I make my India trip, I will need pointers from you on where you shop for your handicrafts.

  • 17. thethoughtbug  |  September 16, 2009 at 7:58 am

    what an absolutely lovely house you have!!!!

    Clueless: Thanks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

