Top 10 signs that I am morphing into an aunty

April 3, 2009 at 8:57 pm 13 comments

1. On my last trip to India, I was positively estatic in a steel patre (utensils) store. I was looking at all the plates, spoons and tiffin boxes and picked up loads until I realized that I would easily exceed my luggage weight limit. However, I have still not acquired the same passion for tupperware, and I hope I never will.

2. When my sister (who is an under-grad) complains to me that amma is being too protective or too paranoid, I tell her “She is doing it for your own good no? ”

3. I fall asleep at 10pm. I could not stay awake even when Barrak Obama came on Jay Leno’s show and I very badly wanted to watch it.

4. I am forever cleaning my dogs ears, taking gunk out of his eyes and generally telling him he has been a bad boy.

5. I stopped shopping in the juniors section.

6. I have a 19 year old calling me aunty. In all fairness, he is my nephew, but still….

7. My first grey hair made its presence felt. I plucked it out, and now there are two.

8. I would rather stay at home warm and comfortable than go clubbing all night. Other reasons for abstence from clubs include Reason no: 3

9. I have started collecting plastic covers and ziplocs. I keep telling myself I am being eco friendly, but really, I am becoming my mom. I can almost see myself washing milk covers and stacking them to sell to the raddiwallah or to put pickles in.

10. I am not ashamed of confessing all of the above.

My dear friends, I rest my case.

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

The Sisterhood Award Home is where…

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. La Vida Loca  |  April 3, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    I join you in your auntyhood- complete w/ dyed grey hair, saving plastic covers, bargaining w/ everybody…..so it goes.

    Clueless: Maybe we can make auntyhood the new “it”…bah…who am I fooling?

  • 2. sraikh  |  April 3, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    I am guilty of all of the above.
    Exchange child for dg.
    I was happy in the steel shop as well.

    Juniors section, HA stopped that a loooong lonng time ago.

    Clueless: Once upon a time I thought juniors section was cool with all its graphics tees and mini skirts. Now, neither can I fit into it, nor is the attire excusable!

  • 3. Dee  |  April 4, 2009 at 3:41 am

    LOL about 1 & 2.. thats me ur talking about!!

    As for the dog, I am checking lumps, bones and everything when she is around.. Honestly, she is more worried if I am losing my mind more than her being sick I think..:D

    Clueless: These dogs I tell ya, they bring out your (s)motherly instincts.

  • 4. Priya  |  April 4, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Guilty of all of the above. Oh God, I’m an aunty aren’t I ?

    Priya.

  • 5. Priya  |  April 4, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    p.s. I thought I was I was cool and hip but really I’m an aunty who is pretending to be hip —- eeeeeeeek….. πŸ™‚

    Priya.

    Clueless: Nah…you are really cool and hip!

  • 6. riddhi  |  April 4, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    They are all my moma symptoms. πŸ™‚ The comments seem as interesting as the post.. loved it

  • 7. DewdropDream  |  April 5, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    I’m getting there. I have had a single white hair for two years now. I don’t go nuts in a steel patre shop but only because my mother does all that shopping for me. I do go nuts when there’s a bed linen sale though. Clubbing, ditto. Though that’s sad coz I have never had a loads of clubbing period as such. And god, I felt so guilty when I recently realised I could’ve saved myself some trouble by washing and reusing pickle jars instead of throwing them away. Auntiedom, here I come! (ooooh that rhymes! :D)

  • 8. i love lucy  |  April 6, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    That was a huge deja-vu moment….almost like you wrote about me!
    Add another point to the list : I cannot stand watching TV with the volume really loud much to the chagrin of the husband!

  • 9. Mallika  |  April 7, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    Do not pull out your grey hairs . They multiply .

    Clueless: I learnt….from the school of hard knocks!

  • 10. Ersa  |  April 29, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    😦 I’m getting there too…Oh what the heck, I shall try and make even the aunty phase as fun as possible..

  • 11. With This Diet I Shed Thirty PΓ³unds in Only a Month  |  May 6, 2009 at 11:22 am

    Hi, nice post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for blogging. I’ll likely be coming back to your blog. Keep up great writing

  • 12. Sumana  |  May 27, 2009 at 6:25 am

    LOL blog hopped from ILoveLucy’s. Was awonderful read. I sail in the same boat as you. Man it pains to enter this world of re-realisation. But glad i have a lot of company. Can i blogroll you?

  • 13. Roop Rai  |  June 4, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    rofl

    so with u

    except the grey hair. thankfully. πŸ˜€ and the dog of course. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

