A photo tag

February 9, 2009 at 6:31 am 7 comments

I have been tagged by DewDropDream to do this tag. I must pick the 6th photo from the 6th folder in my pictures folder and explain the photo. Now I did come up with quite an interesting pic, just what is it you ask??

~~~~~~~ Drumrolls~~~~~~~

ceasarstone-concrete-countertop1

Now, now. This is NOT a picture of my kitchen, though I did wish that it looked like this. Instead, this is a picture of a cast concrete countertop. Why do I have this? Because, when we bought our home, the kitchen was really dated. Old appliances, a white tile countertop that was a magnet for all things turmeric, awful vinyl flooring straight out ofย  the Wonder Years era. It was like stepping back in time everytime I cooked. So, we dedided to update our kitchen. Cabinets were staying, they were solid wood and just needed a touch of paint. But the countertops – no way. So I started researching on the different types available, especially the eco friendly and recycled ones because I do gravitate towards wanting to use unsual and earth friendly materials. And thats how this picture came into my folder titled “countertops”.

Other materials that made it to the short list were – terrazo countertops made with recycled soda bottles, completely glass countertops, paper countertops – yes paper about 6 inches thick can be amazingly strong and when sealed and made waterproof can take anything thrown at it.

The the one that did finally land in my kitchen was good old granite.ย  No contractor even wanted to try and install the others, or wanted to charge us a huge sum for what was essentially the same procedure. And then, there is the thing of resale. Here in US, where you don’t really hold on to your first house forever, you always need to think about if your upgrades will be appreciated by the general buyers so that you can sell fast. I know, it sucks. So when I really have loads of money ( God, u listening?) I am going to build a home according to my specs, with all the spunky and eco friendly products I can find. And those who don’t like my place, well why would I even care??

I know DewDropDream was hoping for a picture of Rummy, so lets not disappoint her either! Here is Rummy snoozing in the kitchen while I cook. Please notice the cute light pink spot on the top of his nose.

picture-276

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

When educated Indians think like this…. My Pink Chaddi

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. La Vida Loca  |  February 9, 2009 at 6:51 am

    Nice! Doggy’s cute too.

  • 2. DewdropDream  |  February 9, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Neat!!! The countertop does look very…dishy ๐Ÿ˜€ I wish I could have a kitchen like that!

    And so sweet of you to post a photo of Rummy just for me! He does look so adorable!!!

    Thanks for the doing the tag so promptly ๐Ÿ™‚

  • 3. Clueless  |  February 9, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    WordPress is not letting me update my comments!

    @La Vida Loca: Rummy is all waiting to find and lick you! Hehehehe

    @DewDropDream: Only if wishes were pennies…I would be stinking rich.

  • 4. Sakshi  |  February 10, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    you have such a cute doggy…

  • 5. DewdropDream  |  February 11, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    You have a dog. I’d say you’re far richer than I am ๐Ÿ˜€

    Clueless: Or poorer, considering Rummy’s pet insurance, vet charges and those ridiculous pet sitting costs.

  • 6. pitu  |  February 21, 2009 at 2:41 am

    ooooooooo wot an utterly beeyootiful doggy!!!!

  • 7. countertop  |  October 20, 2009 at 8:36 am

    Amazing countertop shows on photo!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

