Nicknames ?

January 19, 2009 at 6:22 pm 3 comments

I am probably the worst nickname selector in the world. Off late, I have been reaccessing the nicknames to various people / dog I have come across and none of them, NONE corelate to any of their nicknamable characteristics. For example, my dog Rummy, the cute dog he is, has the following nicknames:

– Haavrani ( Snake Queen )

– Goob Rani ( no meaning – queen )

– Goobini ( the female goob?? )

– Bunga (??)

– Bungini ( the female bunga ? )

– Dinga (??)

Now, my pet is a MALE dog named Rummy. And he looks like this ( most of the times, if you are not dangling a biscuit in front of him )

100_1801

Now, read the nicknames again. Do they make sense? No? I can’t make sense of them either. But I keep calling him these ridiculous names again and again. Why? I blame my parents, they did not pass on their nicknames genes to me. They have such decent relatable nicknames for me and my sister, like for me

Cluelesschick – nickname cluelessu

Sister – nickname Sistu

Very stable, relatable nicknames. No one will raise their eyebrows or think there is a family history of madness. Then why me? Why?

If you need any more examples of my madness, then I am sorry to say I cannot reveal anymore. The only reason I put up Rummy’s nicknames are because he is illeterate and cannot read my blog. Unfortunately, my husband, sister and others I know and call by various other names are very literate and would kill me once they read the blog. I like to live.

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

Making the Bitter Batter Better! A deluded country

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. La Vida Loca  |  January 20, 2009 at 12:29 am

    so wat’s my nick name?

    Clueless: Sorry, you are literate AND read my blog. Can’t disclose.

  • 2. DewdropDream  |  January 20, 2009 at 10:20 am

    So what does Rummy look like when you dangle a biscuit in front of him?

    My mom had the strangest nicknames for our dog: Pogo, Pogesh Chakravartigalu, Potita, Gururaja, Karipinti …

    Oh and she and my dad occasionally called me ‘Nono’ … coz I said no to to everything.

    Clueless: Oh when you get a biscuit out, he sits in attention with a mini Niagra drool falls gushing out of his mouth! Your mom and dad have a really cute nickname for you!

  • 3. Roop Rai  |  January 22, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    heh us desis have a habit of adding a ‘u’ at the end of any name and call it a ‘nickname’ 😉

    husband’s name is pavan … and i call him pavnu sometimes hehe.

    pliss to dangle more biscuits in front of Rummy else Rummy becomes like Shadow (my in-law’s dog) … dude, she is FAT! heh 🙂

    Clueless: Yeah us desis…so much for originality! Aiyooo…no more biscuits for Rummy..he is supposed to be on diet every since my mom visited. She fed him EVERYTHING!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

