Making the Bitter Batter Better!

January 16, 2009 at 7:11 pm 5 comments

I would have made my peace with this country long ago only if it had to offer me my Bangalore style masala dosa.  You know, the crisp and brown on the outside, fluffly on the inside with a generous dose of red garlic chutney smeared and some awesome aloo curry stuffing. The one that makes that long wait in Vidhyarthi Bhavan worthwhile. And even though this place where is live is more Indianized than India itself and has a slew of South Indian restaurants to offer, all of them turn out the same limpy pale masala dosas minus the red chutney. So in my books, they are not masala dosas at all. And with me being batter challenged and K not even knowing the B of batter making, we are left with just dreaming of dosas until our next piligrimage to India.

I had stopped going to South Indian restaurants here.  I cannot see my absoulte favourite tiffin being massacred so heartlessly. Until yesterday. When my colleague took me to this run down shack of a place which served Dosas. I did not get my hopes up even when I saw my dosa in a nice roasted shade of brown. Only when I broke a piece and actually heard a sound, my faith in Amreekan dosas was renewed.  Ofcourse it is still not close to the “original” , but it is a giant leap. The story does not stop here. The owner of the place actually sells dosa batter. Which I promptly got home.

So in the evening me and K made and ate dosas and uttapams till our stomachs burst.  Even my chutney turned out in the perfect consistency, which only heightened the whole experience.  Not once, not once did the dosa stick to the pan and came out perfectly brown. For those who have attempted dosas before, you know you can spot good batter when your dosa does not look like scrambled eggs.  Infact, me and K were so satisfied we postponed our next India trip by a whole month!

Thank you dosa batter guy,  I almost love you.

PS: I have just realised how much auntyish I have become….first dosa batter , what next? Tupperware?? * shudders * Somebody stop me!

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

New year Zumba! Nicknames ?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. La Vida Loca  |  January 16, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    where it is this dosa place? Tell! Tell!!

    Clueless: Buhwahahaha….what will I get in return?? This place is on Abel street in Milpitas, next to a clothing store called “Roop ki Rani”…dingy no name South Indian place….

  • 2. La Vida Loca  |  January 16, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Found it on google
    Thank you! you are welcome 😛

    what do u want? I make good akki rotti, and upittu

    Clueless: Akki rotti with some homemade butter please! And do you make it crispy or soft?

  • 3. DewdropDream  |  January 18, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Auntiedom is an inescapable destination I guess. Happy dosa feasting!

    Clueless: I guess so, but I dont have to get there on a bullet train right??

  • 4. DewdropDream  |  January 19, 2009 at 10:33 am

    No no! Most certainly not!

  • 5. sharanya  |  February 11, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    omg i live in upstate nyc and i miss dosas soo much ! where is this place?? please do tell me !!

    Clueless: This one is in California where i live. Sorry girl! But if you come visiting, let me know and I will pass on the address to you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

