New year Zumba!

January 6, 2009 at 12:16 am 9 comments

The holidays have been good to me. Cakes and chocolates galore, all quickly disappearing in my mouth. And come new year, when I stood on my weighing scale, it groaned and sputtered out a number I cannot live with. K was waiting for this opportunity to push me into exercising. Now, while K enthusiastically runs through the streets of our neighborhood every morning and even waves at a neighbor or two, I cannot fathom exercising for the sake of exercising. I mean, I cannot aimlessly run on a treadmill or do an eleptical. I need to get exercise as a part of some activity, like a game of tennis. So, yeah, coming back to exercising, I refused. And then, as if all this was pre schemed, my friend mentioned that she is going to zumba classes – a rigourous 90 minute latin dance class that gives an awesome cardio workout. Now that I had no reason to refuse, and there being the issue of that weighing scale, I agreed to go.

When K heard this, he got really enthusiastic. He took me to get new gym shoes and some workout clothes. Even when my car had a flat tire and cast doubts over if I could attend my first class, K valiantly swooped in and offered to drive me to my classes. And on the morning of my first class..

K: Do the shoes fit you?

Me: Hmmm

K: No run a little and see….

Me: * running from one end of living room to other* Yeah they fit

K: Are your socks Ok?

Me: Hmmm

K: Did u take your gym towel?

Me: Hmmm

K: Dont stress out too much on the first day itself, ok?

Me: *thinking this is really cute* Big Smile…Hmmm

We pick up all my stuff and we are about to lock the main door

K: Did u pee?

Me: hm…..WHAT??

So yes, K thinks I am a little kid attending first day of kindergarden. Ofcourse, reminding him that I have gone to gym before was met with total disbelief, and then I had to remind him that I DID have a life before I met him.

All said and done, the Zumba classes were awesome, I did not even notice how 90 minutes went by! I jumped and hopped and shook my booty, and with my dancing skills, I am wonderstuck at how the instructor tolerated me. I think I got a good workout, or atleast the pain in my butt says so.

On that note, I wish everyone a very happy, healthy and wholesome new year!

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

My Grandfather Making the Bitter Batter Better!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. La Vida Loca  |  January 6, 2009 at 12:20 am

    happy 2009 to u also.
    telling u—-run a marathon

    Clueless: I can’t! Running is not my thing. Swimming is….but to get into a swimsuit and not scare little children present there, I need to tone up a little… All a vicious circle šŸ˜¦

  • 2. Priya in Suburbia  |  January 6, 2009 at 12:52 am

    God, I can’t dance to save my life. If embarassment burned calories – then yeah, I could try dancing and the calories would melt right off ! šŸ™‚

    Good luck with the dance,
    priya.

    Clueless: I can’t dance either…but I am quite shameless!

  • 3. Pages tagged "i love lucy"  |  January 6, 2009 at 2:35 am

    […] bookmarks tagged i love lucy New year Zumba! Ā« Why all things lead to chaos saved by 2 others     vannessarocks bookmarked on 01/05/09 | […]

  • 4. Princess Fiona  |  January 7, 2009 at 9:31 am

    cute post…happy new year…its the year of the zumba… šŸ™‚

  • 5. i love lucy  |  January 7, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Oooh, sounds sexy! I love dancing even though I am not that great at it.The Zumba sounds like lot of fun! Wish I could find something similar here…
    Here’s wishing you a very happy new year as well! šŸ™‚

    Clueless: Wish you a very happy new year as well…..Zumba is fun as long as you dont get to watch yourself perform in those huge mirrors!

  • 6. Zumba;-)  |  January 9, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    Nice Clueless:) Soo see u this saturday and we shoudl definitely get Amanda to do the Dhoom

    Clueless: Yeah, now K wants me to learn all the booty shaking moves šŸ˜‰

  • 7. Anitha a.k.a Rekha  |  January 11, 2009 at 8:32 am

    yeah!….”they (spouse/boyfriend) think that we did not have a life before we met them!!!”…anyways, I gss we girls love the attention showered from time to time…!..:)

  • 8. DewdropDream  |  January 15, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Forgive me for being so scatterbrained but I can’t remember if I delurked earlier. It’s just that I’ve been checking your blog regularly for a while now hoping you’ll do a new post soon and wanted to leave a comment and say I really enjoy coming by here šŸ™‚

  • 9. Suki  |  January 28, 2009 at 3:03 am

    Total LOL @ “did you pee?”

    still LOL!

    How is the Zumba going? Is it possible for people who have about a dozen left feet(that keep tumbling all over each other) to learn it? šŸ™‚

    Clueless: Well, thankfully everyone is equally bad and we just keep staring at the instructor to keep pace. Hardly any time to look at ourselves or others. Do the answer is, I still don’t know!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

