Seattle trip – just what I needed

July 7, 2008 at 6:12 am 8 comments

Went to Seattle over the weekend with the free tickets my ex-travel agent had given us ( refer to the previous post for more details on the tickets ). And it was a breath of fresh air. Literally.

Left early in the morning and landed in Seattle at around 8:30 am, after which we rented a car and drove straight to Mt.Rainier, which is so magnificently huge that is a back drop at the Seattle airport, as if like an embossed watermark that authenticates the city.

Mt.Rainier was even more beautiful in person. As we drove higher, we could see the remnants of winter. Snow that was still about 4 ft high, when the temperate was at a warm 72 degrees F. Both me and K were wearing open toed flip flops, but that did not stop us from hiking in the snow!

On our way back, we stopped at a waterfall that literally crossed our path. The waterfall was right next to the road, and a part of it went under the road, and then took a deep dive. We went and sat on a rock under the road with all that water gushing right by us. It was one of the most eerie experiences I ever had!

We stopped at a unique place for our supper. It was a train compartment converted to a restaurant. Had some “bloomers” there, which were whole onions cut to look like a blooming flower, then battered and fried. Yummy!

Day 2 in Seattle started off with a visit to the Boeing factory. They took us to their manufacturing unit where we could see planes in the assembly lines at various stages of construction. The cranes that ran on tracks overhead were seriously cool machines that could lift more than 1000 tonnes! Next time I sit in a plane, I will definitely be reminded of all the awesome engineering that goes into making a monstrous steel bird fly. Unfortunately, they did not let us take any pics on the factory tour, so this will have to do:

We headed off to the Seattle downtown, only to find that every road was clogged because of a Gay Parade. I was very upset sitting in my car, stuck in traffic until I got to see the actual parade. Of course, the tubelight that I am, it took me sometime to realize I was blowing kisses to a MAN, before which I thought SHE was the homecoming queen or something….And, I really need to take some styling tips from them because they looked so good!

Stopped at Pike Place for lunch. It is such an awesome farmer’s market, it is a must see for anyone who visits Seattle. Had French crepes with loads of fresh veggies from the market itself. Really liked some paintings, but when I realized it will cost me my entire salary to get one, politely wished the artist a good day and walked away 😦

Did the tourist thing to do, went to Space Needle. It is one major pit , I tell you. It is not even the highest building in Seattle anymore! And they charge us an arm and a foot to ride up their elevator and stand there. The view, of course was amazing, but you can get that FREE OF COST from any other tall building in the downtown. It looks better from the outside, believe me.

End of day 2 meant packing our bags and heading back to town. And just when we thought all our excitement was over, our pet sitter told us that she can speak us animals, and that…well…our dog told her that he thinks that we should have kids! Looks like my mom and my pet sitter have joined forces! I keep wondering what else my dog “told” her….sigh!…my family secrets are no longer safe from this double crosser!

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

What I did last couple of days and why it has left me drained of all energy whatsoever Orkutters Anonymous

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. La Vida Loca  |  July 7, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    sounds great!
    she can talk to dogs! what’s next? talking to dead people…errr..never mind!

    Clueless: I don’t care who she can talk to as long as they don’t tell her I should be having kids! Talk about pressure…now I have even crossed the human species barrier

  • 2. Abha  |  July 8, 2008 at 9:04 am

    sounds like such a great trip! loved all the photos!!

    and your dog wants you to have kids too??!! awesome!! :p

    cheers!

    abha

    Clueless: Thanks!

  • 3. i love lucy  |  July 8, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    We wanted to go to Seattle too for the long weekend but chickened out when I saw that the airfare for each person is around $550.We went to Colorado instead and had the best time ever!
    Rummy looks sad in the picture.Why?

    Clueless: Colorado is one of my fav destinations too! Will take tips from you before heading there…
    Rummy looks sad most probably because he is trying to con someone into feeding him more food!

  • 4. Rohini  |  July 9, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    You have a dog?! Can I just die of jealousy???!!

    Thanks for dropping by and de-lurking…. ‘We are pregnant’ is right there on my list of phrases that piss me off too!!!

    Clueless: Jealousy?? Please read my previous post on how he broke our $500 TV!!! Its a madhouse I tell you!
    Thanks for stopping by..yours is one of the most well written blogs I have come across.

  • 5. Rekha  |  July 10, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    niceeee!!!…..I need a vacation too!!

  • 6. kochab  |  July 25, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Seatlle looks beautiful, a friend recently visited and said it was one of the most beautiful places she had seen so its on top of my list now. Will ask you for places to visit before I go 🙂

  • 7. Sue  |  November 11, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Oh you have a Dalmation. So cute! I love ’em.

  • 8. erinatruba  |  March 3, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    Hi! I’m the Community Manager of Ruba.com. We’re building a website to highlight some of the most interesting places travelers around the world have discovered. We’ve read hundreds of blogs about Seattle, and we think that this post is awesome! We’d love to highlight excerpts from blogs like yours (assuming it’s OK with you of course) and to discuss other ways of tapping into your expertise if you are interested. I’m at erin@ruba.com.
    Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

