What I did last couple of days and why it has left me drained of all energy whatsoever

June 27, 2008 at 1:51 am 8 comments

– Had work up to my neck, finishing off a couple of things before I go off on my BIG Europe + India vacation in August. France, Switzerland, Italy and Greece. By the end of it I will have a nice European summer tan to show off.

– Booked insanely expensive and ridiculously small hotels in Europe. One hotel in Switzerland charges extra if you want a window! And what is with shared bathrooms there? Of course, if you think you will need some privacy while pooping, then guess what…it costs extra.

– Thought all the while that we should head to French Consulate and that French consulate has enough dates. I got a shocker when I saw that the next appointment I could get was Jul 27, when I have to leave on Jul 31. Then realized that I should in fact go to the Italian Consulate that is open only 2 days a week for 3 hours each. AND has a visa turn around time of THIRTY days. But at least it did not need an appointment. So off I went, and now they have promised my visa by Jul 17, and I still have to visit the Swiss consulate, which thankfully gives you a visa on the same day. Btw, do you know how much paper work is required to apply for a visa? I am sure I made at least a small rain forest disappear.

– Came back home to find that my dog had pushed our LCD TV over. And it is broken. Rummy is being punished by being put out of the house. He is not happy. Seeing him sulk, I am not happy. And no TV for distraction means me and K are a couple of not happy people stuck in the same room with nothing to do, and a broken TV staring at our face and screaming $500 in our head.

– Packing for going to Seattle over the weekend. This was a free vacation our travel agent gave us for screwing up my parents’ tickets last year. I thought vacation included flight AND hotel. Asked the guy about the hotel. He says “but I thought you will stay with your friends”. !!*@!%#? Apparently, now it is a well established fact that all desis are free loaders who never stay at motels and always look for “friends” to board them. Why, even my travel agent ex-travel agent thinks so.

– Scrambling to get a ride for a team picnic happening tomorrow. I missed the planning because I was standing in line at the Italian Consulate where people were rolling their r’s so much that it sounded like an old Harley going Drrr Drrr Drrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. Now a kind colleague has offered me a ride , where I have to sit in the middle part of 2 bucket seats for nearly a distance of 60 miles. Each way. Ouch.

Oh yeah…the silver lining…I bought new shoes šŸ™‚ They are open toed, cream/tan geometric pattern with big round silver button on the front. And they look so pretty on me!

PS: Thanks La Vida Loca for asking.

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

Akshay’s beard affects millions! Seattle trip – just what I needed

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. La Vida Loca  |  June 27, 2008 at 3:13 am

    šŸ™‚
    why be standing in line? hubby went to some of those places and mailed the apps and they came back stamped..or maybe I ma mistaken…

    Clueless: They take 30 days when we go there in person. Just imagine the plight if I mail them…that too when I have only 30 days left.

  • 2. Rekha  |  July 5, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Hi…chanced upon your blog..great stuff here….
    a girl writing in funnies is cool.
    Keep `em coming more often and I shall read `em all!

    Chao!

    Clueless: Welcome! And thanks!

  • 3. mathew  |  July 6, 2008 at 5:30 am

    the story is same everywhere..in italy coffee prices go up if you sit near the window overlooking some monument!!;-(

    I have been longing to see seattle ever since i saw FRASIER!!;-D

    Clueless: Seattle is a beautiful place. Coming up with a post on my trip soon…Please let me know of any Euro saving pointers that do not involve sharing bathrooms, claustrophobia or starvation!

  • 4. Preeti  |  July 7, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Great post. Travelling thorugh Europe is not always as romantic as one may envision. but it’s an experience non the less. Sorry about the tv…

    Clueless: I am looking forward to Europe being more of an adventure. Since I won’t willingly step into a conducted tour, I am all prepared (atleast mentally) to weather it out! And don’t be sorry about the TV, I got a bigger better one šŸ˜€ * tries to forget the burning hole it has left in the wallet*

  • 5. Abha  |  July 8, 2008 at 9:07 am

    and one would think only kids are bratty and destructive!! and least you can spank the brat!! :p

    you make the whole romatic european holiday look like a series of glitches and red tapism!! hehe!!

    i guess the sights and sounds clear up the bad memories later! hehe!!

    cheers!

    abha

    Clueless: Yeah the brat is giving me a heads up on my parenting skills!

  • 6. mathew  |  July 8, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    well depends on where you want to visit….for eg if you are visiting Paris certain museums are free entry on certain days like the Louvre on the first monday of every month…and if you are visiting Rome..dont take any transport pass..the city has to be relished walking around….and the best saving part comes in staying in budget hotels(like ETAP) and not waste money buying mineral water at the touristy spot..stock em up at your hotel…

  • 7. mathew  |  July 8, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Other tips…some places look as impressive at night as in day..so dont forget to visit such places twice..eg. eiffel..colosseum..etc…

    open bus tours are sheer waste of money..buy a good guide book(lonely planet) or even wiki..they have more info…

    try doing bicycle tours at places like amsterdam…

    if you are visiting austria..do take a train journey between vienna and salzburg…take a sound of music tour in salzburg as well..

    and not to forget the food..the cusine as big a part of any visitor experience..

  • 8. mathew  |  July 8, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    and if you are art lover..do visit Florence….and just for info sake..Venice is the most expensive tourist place i have ever been too..everything there cost more than rest of the world..

    Clueless: Atlast! Someone who agrees with me! I hate conducted tours…taking the hop on and off bus passes at different cities. Trying to stay in the center of all these cities so that I don’t spend time commuting to places of interest. I am visiting Florence to see the David šŸ˜‰

    Totally into trying the local cuisine…one small glitch is that I am a vegetarian. Still will try and sample as much local veggised fare as possible! Thanks for all the info !

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

