Akshay’s beard affects millions!

June 20, 2008 at 7:03 pm 3 comments

Guess what the latest controversy is….no no…it is not female infanticide, poverty, starvation, or even the lack of leadership in a developing nation. It is…hold your breath….the size of Akshay’s beard in his move “Singh is King”

http://entertainment.in.msn.com/bollywood/article.aspx?cp-documentid=1490170

Apparently, the wise elders of community are concerned that Akshay’s non-beard in the movie will cause young Sikhs to be influenced and trim their beards off. I mean…how do they even come up with such things? Is there a committee that is appointed to watch movies and see how they can make a fuss over it? And before angry Sikhs start throwing tomatoes at me (sigh…I STILL think loads of people read my blog even if the blog stats say otherwise), every community has their attention grabbing committee working overtime.

Do you really think a rich tradition that has survived 100s of years will be influenced by one movie? Of if a particular tradition is losing popularity because it can no longer be related to, do you really want to make a zombie out of it instead of letting it die a dignified death? And why, oh why, don’t the directors have the backbone to stick to their movies? Apparently Akshay hurriedly went and grew a beard to appease the elders.

Have you read Ayn Rand’s “Anthem”? I think that is exactly where we are heading. A society that does not respect individuals, forces a norm and strips you of your dignity. When humans are the walking dead. And where a few **** heads get to decide how you should behave and lead your life. And what are we doing about it? Oh…we are just hurrying them along.

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

I have finally arrived! What I did last couple of days and why it has left me drained of all energy whatsoever

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. La Vida Loca  |  June 21, 2008 at 1:07 am

    The last para..that’s scary..but every society is oing that way….so I dont know if I should be comforted or get off the ride

    Clueless: You can hope our ride is long over before this happens!

  • 2. i love lucy  |  June 26, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Bollywood and its politics never ceases to amaze me.And these religion based controversies never cease to sicken me.And sometimes in the heat of the moment,I find myself getting sucked into myself.Especially when it comes to the the North-South divide and how their attitude towards Bangalore.
    So if educated folks like me can succumb,what hopes do the illiterate ones have?Sad it is.

  • 3. La Vida Loca  |  June 26, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    write post no?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

