Happy Birthday to me!

June 10, 2008 at 6:28 pm 4 comments

Yeah..I still get excited about my birthday every year. I know there will be a “suprise” party with my friends over at midnight, I know my parents, sister, aunts, uncles, cousins, inlaws  will call and wish me. But every year, it is just as delicious basking in their wishes and knowing that I am not forgotten ( one of my secret fears ever since I have moved to the US )

This year, the K put in some extra effort to make it even more special. And I love him for that. Firstly, he bought be three gorgeous pairs of footwear – one in hot pink with a huge buckle on the front, an aqua peeptoe and some very comfortable walking shoes. I am wearing the hot pink ones today to work and I keep staring at them ;;)

And then, the guy goes ahead and buys my birthday cake from one of my favorite bakeries, that too in Tiramisu flavor. Did I tell you that I can do anything for a piece of that dessert? And then, in the cutest way, he gives away goodie bags to all my friends who came over…little colored bags with 2 packets of chips, a bag of candy, a piece of cheese and some hard candy. There were simultaneous “awwww….”s from all my friends…and I felt soo proud of my K, I wanted to hold him tight right there…

And then, when I thought it was all done, and woke up on my birthday morning, I heard the door bell ring. When I opened it, there were birthday balloons tied to my car, and a card taped to the window. It was from my SIL and BILs families. Them being not so big on birthdays but still making it special for me the way I like it made me go all mushy again. Rummy walked around the whole morning with those balloons tied to his collar, looking like a bumble bee with 2 antennae over his head.

This morning I had so many choices for what to wear, thanks to my parents and sister who parcel me clothes every year ( I think the mail charges cost more than the clothes, but you think this deters my mom? ). I am in love with FabIndia all over again, can’t wait to get my hands on more cotton stuff when I am in India.

I will be finishing off the evening with a nice dinner, just me and K. We will get back home, sit with our dog cozily and watch some random movie we don’t really care about. I have a smugness today I can’t shake off. I feel truly blessed to be surrounded by people I love and who love me. Today just reminds me of how special they are.

Who cares about age, I can’t wait for my next birthday already!

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

The many moods of Rummy Men….hmmph

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. La Vida Loca  |  June 11, 2008 at 12:26 am

    happy birthday tooo uuuuu

    Clueless: Thanks La Vida Loca!

  • 2. ilovelucy  |  June 11, 2008 at 3:03 am

    Sounds like you had a really nice birthday!
    And your husband came up with ALL of that?By himself? Awwww…..He is a keeper!
    Best wishes for a wonderful year ahead 🙂

    Clueless: Thanks! It took years of training before hubby could pull that off 😉

  • 3. ilovelucy  |  June 11, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    You are from Bangalore and you went to UTD ??!!
    I have a strange feeling that we might have ran into each other some time!
    Mail me : ilovelucy.blogspot@gmail.com 🙂

  • 4. Abha  |  July 8, 2008 at 9:09 am

    😀

    what a perfect start to another year!!!

    wishing you such love and happiness all along!

    cheers!

    abha

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

