Engineers demystified

May 19, 2008 at 11:50 pm 7 comments

I am tired of hearing everywhere I go that engineers are boring people, don’t enjoy life, yada yada yada. In fact, if I ever run into a non-engineering person and she comes to know that I am one, the entire approach and behavior changes. And I am left defending my clan, especially those of women engineers, from the usual stereotypical accusations. So I am here, once and for all to debunk the (women) engineers myths.

1. Engineers, especially women engineers are boring and always talk about technical stuff.
Dearie, I think what you meant to say was that your pretty head is not able to understand whatever I am trying to say. And no, I don’t always talk techie. I do talk about politics, who won the latest NBA game, religion, philosophy, but it guess since it is not about tupperware, it does not interest you. And you know what? Tupperware talk is BORING, and this time it is not because I don’t understand.

2. Engineers just sit in front of computers all day long
It is not like we are zombies sitting and staring at a screen. It may look like all 0s and 1s to you, but I am actually solving a complex issue that gives enough entertainment to my brain. So much so that I sometimes forget to look at the clock. So we don’t “just sit”, we are working, with our brains. A new concept to you I guess!

3. Writing code is like writing English
Really? How do you think I make your iPhone work? By writing “if phone call comes, then ring”? There is a lot more to designing a system than writing code, and there is a lot more to code than a couple of English phrases. Stop trying to pacify yourself that whatever I do is almost idiotic. Do I see sour grapes here?

4. Engineers don’t have “personality”. In other fields, you need “personality” to get hired
Let me translate. You meant to say that my ass licking skills should be pretty good if I have to take your job. No thanks. I prefer to work somewhere where my work speaks for itself. And where people hire me because I can get things done, not because I am oh sooo cute or nice or because I dress well.

5. Engineers dress badly
Just because we don’t have a dress code does not mean that we dress badly. And who would want to be stuck in a business suit when it is 40 degrees ( centigrade, not Fahrenheit ) outside? Again, I like working in a place where I am judged for my work, not how many buttons my suit has. And think of us engineers in our cool shorts when you are wearing that blazer in the hot weather and sweating like a pig. Who has the better deal now?

6. You became an engineer only because it pays well
……and you did not because you could not qualify? Is jealousy rearing its ugly head here?  Some of us actually like math and writing code. And we are sustaining in this industry for this long because of that reason. Deal with it.

7. There are no pretty women in engineering
This is the one that gets me the most! Somehow a woman who likes math and has brains is threatening to so many people. So much that I have many many guys who use this statement. They don’t want to marry “engineering-type” girls. I guess what they mean to say is “there are no pretty women in engineering – who want to go out with me”. This whole thing reeks of lack of self confidence to me.

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

Is religion really relevant – to me? Sex and the City – the movie

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Imp's Mom  |  May 30, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Bah…we women are really discriminated on a lot of issues aren’t we?

    I have scores of friends who are techies, some of my best friends are and I’m always running to them with things i don’t understand, given that I am technologically challenged 😛

    Clueless: I am sure I don’t understand much about some one else’s work either…but I don’t go around calling them boring on their face! That is just rude!

  • 2. La Vida Loca  |  May 31, 2008 at 12:36 am

    this is funny

  • 3. La Vida Loca  |  May 31, 2008 at 1:30 am

    this is grass being greener on the other side..us medical/dental fellows thought that engg colleges got all the pretty gals!

  • 4. Cherish  |  July 6, 2008 at 12:50 am

    I love this. I think I’ll have to keep a copy to give people whenever they try to hit me with one of these. 🙂

    Clueless: Please…and feel free to add your own gyaan so that I can build up my ammo 🙂

  • 5. Reshmi  |  July 13, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    hi,

    first timer here. i like the part where you say i let my work do the talking. as a woman engineer, i have faced similar comments/responses from time-to-time. i keep my version of this speech handy. the response is usually funny to watch.

    reshmi

    Clueless: Welcome! Yup…we all have our speeches ready…posted mine to keep it handy!

  • 6. samar  |  December 11, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    Read this blog .. this is also too good blog .. defining that who is engineer and how they act and think?
    http://chotanarad.wordpress.com/2008/10/21/we-engineers/#comment-2

  • 7. Tom  |  January 14, 2010 at 12:24 am

    “They don’t want to marry “engineering-type” girls.”

    I don’t think I could marry a girl that wasn’t an engineer.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

