Valentine’s day

February 5, 2008 at 10:55 pm Leave a comment

With Valentine’s day coming close by, me and K are scratching our heads on what to do on the D-day. So far this is how the track record has been:

Year 1: the newly weds
We shall name this the year of super cheesiness. I think the only saving grace was that K did not get me a teddy bear to complete the package. I cant thank him enough for that. Otherwise we went through the complete works. I wore a halter necked top on a freezing February night, paid for a super expensive hair cut, got reservations at a super expensive restaurant in San Francisco which suprisingly (?) served very ordinary food. I even made K write a poem for me ( yeah you heard me right, I MADE him write, just like I MAKE him suprise me every year for my birthday) which was more like prose written with a very small page width on MS word. And ofcourse, K bought me ipod nano, and I gave him custom decals for his car (both the gifts remain unused. K wants to use my ipod but I dont let him πŸ˜€ ). There were even candles at the restaurant to maintain the highest cheesy quotient. Result – very very giddy, ear to ear grin newly weds lighter in the pocket by a couple of hundreds of dollars, not minding it one bit though. After so much cheesiness, the aftershocks were felt in March when both of us could not fit into our jeans anymore.

Year 2: 1 year wiser
We refused to fall for the restaurant trick. And decided not to buy any more stuff with hearts or any other such decorations on them which looks cute only on Feb 14 and cannot even be displayed around the house later. We both decided that we will go to the SAP Open Tennis Tournament and watch Blake and Roddick have a go at it. Very very satisfying, even more so as there were no other coochiekooing couples around. Got a little red faced after being reminded that we were those coochiekooing couple a year back. Stopped at Jack in the Box on the way back and had egg and buttermilk biscuit sandwitch along with jalepeno poppers – very very satisfying. All in all, a very well spent day doing ( or watching) something we both liked.

Year 3: Lack of ideas
This year, I have no real idea about what exactly we should be doing. Or how about this radical thought – why should we do anything at all? No, I am not one of those cynical, anti-capitalistic aliens that refuse to do anything because it is Valentine’s day. I mean, why the pressure? OK, we really dont have any ideas on what we want to do, or any shows/events we really want to watch. So why should I settle for anything less just because I HAVE to do something on Valentine’s day? I should be OK telling people ” No, we are not doing anything, thank you” instead of feeling all duh and trying to come up with cover up answers. So here is it – “WE DONT HAVE PLANS FOR VALENTINE’S DAY”. <….waiting…..> The earth is still here and did not collapse into a black hole! Its a miracle!

However, we WILL be going on a nice picnic that weekend, just the two of us ( ofcourse Rummy, you are included too) and hopefully we will get to sit and ponder over the mysteries of the universe while we gaze into the most spectacular sunset ( Awwwww…….deep down inside, I am still a romantic πŸ™‚ )

Entry filed under: Random Banter.

Rain Rain go away…. Really? Really? REALLY?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds

Recent Comments

Srinivasan Seshadri on My Grandfather
nmaha on The Nanny diaries
nmaha on Bad mommy
Nidhi on Bad mommy
She talks like June on Bad mommy

